Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This turned out to be the best beef stew ever, but I gave it only 4 stars because of the alterations I had to use. I feel that some of the steps listed are unnecessary and take extra time (like boiling the water with the soup mix). I followed the instructions with the following changes: I added 2 C. beef broth (in place of water) and only 1 packet of the onion soup mix straight to the crock pot. I also cut the onion into very small pieces and only added about 1 1/2 med. sized onions. I also added 3 tbs. fresh chopped parsley instead of dried, and 1 tbs. of celery flakes. I think that fresh celery would go well also. I did not use mushrooms, and added the wine straight to the crock pot. Also added just a pinch of allspice (I always use it in beef dishes and it's GREAT!) and 1 bay leaf that I removed when it was done cooking. This is hearty and amazing! Next time I'll try red potatoes. I made an extra batch, put in frozen tupperware, and gave as homemade frozen meals for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I am the one that is known for making reservations, not dinner itself. A friend turned me onto this site and I look for the 5 star ratings to try something out. When I made this, my husband remarked "What did you do to this?" I didn't know how to respond so I just said nervously asked "Why?" He asked me what I laced it with because he had never tasted Stew so good in his life. He had 5 helpings that night, and took it to work every day that week. He never eats left overs EVER, so the fact he did the entire week was astounding. My husband is a very picky eater, and is afforded the luxury of eating in the finest eateries around town for lunch several times a week so it is HIGHEST praise coming from him. I went back to find the recipe again (stupidly did not save it to my box and erroneously made another recipe. Even tho it was rated 5 stars as well, it was not even close in flavor to this one. Miraculously, I printed out this recipe and just found it again. Whew!! Off to make it again tonight. When browning the beef, don't use a NON stick pan. The crusty stuff on the bottom is SO good and adds a great flavor to the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Whew! This was a lot of work for a crockpot meal. I followed recipe to a "T" although I used more flour to dredge and didn't need the cornstarch at the end as there was plenty of gravy. After 1 hour on high and 6 hours on slow meat was still tough so it needs 8 hours. Was good but needed more flavor so had to add spices at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
My girlfriend is one of the choosiest eaters in terms of quality of ingredients, taste, and health benefits. I made this recipe and she says it's the best beef stew she's had in her life. I'm inclined to agree it was incredible. I followed the 1/2 size recipe fairly closely. Just added some extra garlic salt after a couple hours in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I made a few alterations as we have a small family and I didn't need too much...I halved the recipe. We didn't have mushrooms, so I used Cream of Mushroom soup and used Onion and Mushroom dry soup mix instead of recommended. My kids loved it as did myself and my husband! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I really liked the stew. Very hearty! Two points to note: 1. I'd like to try it with more vegetables, like peas, for instance 2. Be sure to take out the onions when you are done cooking, I tried eating them and they didn't taste very good in large chunks like that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I can see why this is "Kyle's Favorite" as this has definitely become a favorite in our house! I did however modify it a little to cut down on the number of steps. I added a little of garlic and onion powders along to the flour mixture and added the Worcestershire right to the crock pot. I also used whole baby carrots and whole baby red potatoes. I didn't bother with the boiling water, but rather added the onion soup mix right to the crock pot with beef broth. I also quartered a large vidalia onion, used portabella mushrooms, and added all that with the garlic and burgundy wine right to the crock pot along with a couple of bay leaves and let go for 8 hours on low. It smelled wonderful and thickened up nicely with the cornstarch mixture. It was wonderful with a side of french bread and a nice glass of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
AWESOME! This was the best beef stew ever! My husband loved it! I followed the reciped exactly...would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was the most tastiest, thickest beef stew ever!! Used a nice robust red wine. Cooked at 250 all day, the smell was divine... no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
My husband absolutely loved this recipe. I left out the mushrooms because I didn't have any. I added the wine to the skillet to pick up drippings then added to the slow cooker. I think I may add more garlic next time; I felt it was missing a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States