Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Delish! I added a 15 oz can of beef broth and used onion mushroom and beefy onion mixes instead of plain onion, just becuase I keep those onhand in my pantry. I also several celery stalks because they needed to be used up. Cooking time was perfect, 1 hour on high then 8 hours on low for tender meat and it thickens up nicely with the cornstarch slurry. Though I think if you were leaving for work you could skip the 1 hr on high step and stick it on low. My honey loved that mushrooms were included in this stew. I also added some dried thyme to the mix because I think it goes well with the red wine and I just like the spice in Winter meals. I think the addition of a bay leaf or two would provide nice flavor as well, I'll try that next time. Thanks for a great, hearty and satifying crockpot-friendly recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Delicious. This recipe is a "keeper." I made one half the recipe as I do not have a large slow cooker. Thank you Heather G for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Cartwright Cawthra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I cut this recipe in half (for my smaller family) and used vegetable stock (homemade this time) instead of the wine. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
The best stew I ever made..McCormick Beef stew seasoning mix packet in place of one of the onion soup packets and cooked it on high for 2 hours and low for 2 1/2 hours due to time constraints and it was fork tender, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I have this recipe in my crockpot at the minute and it smells AMAZING! All I have left to do is thicken it up. I made this slightly differently by combining a few steps to make things a tad easier. I tossed the onion in with the potatoes and carrots. I also added a can of drained diced tomatoes and added a pinch of nutmeg. I added basic seasonings to the flour mixture I shook the meat in, i.e: garlic, black pepper, etc. I did not have fresh muchrooms, so I used a can of drained mushrooms and sauteed them with the minced garlic and the wine. Near the end of cooking I added about 1 to 2 cups of frozen peas. I am going to serve this with homemade rosemary bread on the side. A perfect fall dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was the best beef stew recipe I've used! It was definitely thick and hearty enough for my hubby, and the kids loved it, too. The only things I did differently were slice the onions into wide slices instead of quarters, and left out the mushrooms because we don't like them. I poured the wine directly into the crock pot. This was fantastic, and we will be having it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASVEGAZZZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I've tried many different styles of "Beef Stew" but this one by far has turned out to be one of my favorites...EVERYONE loved this and the flavor was wonderful. Not to mention the SMELL while it was cooking on a CHILLY Sunday. The hubby couldn't get enough of the stew! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaDukes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I added apple cider to the broth and BAM! Kicked it up a notch ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I made this yesterday afternoon and it tasted good when I stuck my spoon it. Today when I heated it back up to serve it, I added an extra splash of wine. It tasted even better today. I made half of the recipe for three of us. We had an unexpected guest and it is gone! We ate every drop of it. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States