Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe except I didn't have red wine in the house (I know shocking...) so I used 1/8th cup of balsamic vinegar (with truffle oil), canned mushrooms (no fresh on hand), one pack of onion soup mix (all I had) and added some beef bouillon. Also I didn't need to thicken it at the end. Rather than use a slow-cooker, since I started about 12:30 p.m., I used my pressure cooker. We were eating by 2:00 p.m. I pressure cooked it 45 minutes - 30 min would have been enough. I think the ingredients are great, but I think the technique can be simplified. Save some time, just brown your beef (important step), sauté your garlic, onions (if you want, or throw in pot) and fresh mushrooms in the same pan right afterwards (skip the added butter, use the wine here if you want or just put it in the pot), and then mix everything in your slow cooker or pressure cooker, depending on your time constraints. Pressure cooking makes this a week-night meal. Very tasty stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LottieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
LOVED at and so did my family. Just added a bit more corn starch and didnt have mushrooms so added chopped celery. Best I ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This stew was phenomenal! I've tried a few stew recipes in the past and they all seemed to come up short in the flavor department except for this one. I made it tonight for my family and they loved it! I didn't make any changes to this recipe only one addition.........1 1/2 teaspoons of salt, that's it! And the only reason why I added the extra salt was to flavor the potatoes. In my opinion, potatoes need salt. Great recipe just as it is (with the addition of salt). This has become our go to stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a great beef stew. After about 5 hours in the crock pot (you need a really nice sized crock pot because it makes alot) I tasted it for flavoring...decided it needed a little something added. So, I added a can of Rotel tomatoes, can of beef consomme', a nice dash of garlic salt, about 1/4 cup of ketchup and THEN it all came together. Served it to company and they all loved it on a nice chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I thought this was amazing. I did make a few changes, but they are minor and are as follows: I only used 1.5 pounds of beef stew meat and made up for that by using one extra potato and a pound of frozen peas. I used medium white mushrooms quartered instead of the button mushrooms. Other than that I stuck to the recipe. I think that it was a little labor intensive where it probably doesn't need to be...I will probably be lazy next time I make it. All in all this is a very tasty dish and reheats well. For dinner last night I had two bowls of it followed by another bowl reheated right before bed. Today for lunch at work, i had a small bowl of it with some ciabatta bread for dipping. Very tasty...and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Ridiculously amazing beef stew! I used a claret for the wine. This dish was incredibly popular at our Christmas dinner with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was delicious. I personally like more vegetables and less salty soups, so next time, I will just add one packet of french onion soup mix and add additional herbs (not including salt). I'll also add morevegetables-probably carrots, corn and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Whoa, baby, this is the one! While my family loves any sort of beef stew, I'm not usually a fan ... except for "Kyle"s Favorite." Delicious, exquisite, I can eat this for breakfast. I halved the recipe, used fresh parsley and per another reviewer's idea, used canned beef broth instead of water, a pinch of allspice and some bay leaves. This is simply heaven in a crockpot. Thank you very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I followed this recipe with a venison roast. Boy, was this good! My family loved the flavor. Absolutely the best stew I've ever made. Thanks for this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I usually try to make a recipe exactly as stated, then with my own tweaks before making a review, but for this recipe it wasn't the case. I had all the ingredients on hand except for the wine and mushrooms (with the addition of celery that needed to be used), so I thought this was the base recipe for me. It turned out very bland. I ended up going to the store for the McCormick beef stew spice blend, while also adding some tomato paste, soy sauce and seasoning salt towards the end. I give this two stars for the cooking method, but the flavoring wasn't right for us personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States