Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made this over the weekend (without the mushrooms) and everyone absolutely loved it!! I usually give away more portions that my family eats from crock pot recipes, but only one serving of this beef stew was given away - very tasty! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
We have made this three times now. We have to make a couple of alterations for food allergies but we all love it! Nothing better than walking in the house after a long day and smelling this cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this with only about 2lbs of beef and one onion soup packet which was too strong. Next time I'll probably use 3lbs of beef with one soup packet. I also used two bags of frozen stew veggies and omitted the mushrooms. Cooked on high for 4 hours, then low for 1 hour (was short on time) and it came out thick and tender. Leftovers were delicious after I added some extra water. Even my picky one year old ate it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
My favorite beef stew recipe. I didn't include the mushrooms because we don't like them but it was still very good! I have made this numerous times. My grocery store didn't have burgandy wine once so I used Merlot cooking wine. It was good but the burgandy is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Delish! I added a 15 oz can of beef broth and used onion mushroom and beefy onion mixes instead of plain onion, just becuase I keep those onhand in my pantry. I also several celery stalks because they needed to be used up. Cooking time was perfect, 1 hour on high then 8 hours on low for tender meat and it thickens up nicely with the cornstarch slurry. Though I think if you were leaving for work you could skip the 1 hr on high step and stick it on low. My honey loved that mushrooms were included in this stew. I also added some dried thyme to the mix because I think it goes well with the red wine and I just like the spice in Winter meals. I think the addition of a bay leaf or two would provide nice flavor as well, I'll try that next time. Thanks for a great, hearty and satifying crockpot-friendly recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Delicious. This recipe is a "keeper." I made one half the recipe as I do not have a large slow cooker. Thank you Heather G for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Cartwright Cawthra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I cut this recipe in half (for my smaller family) and used vegetable stock (homemade this time) instead of the wine. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
The best stew I ever made..McCormick Beef stew seasoning mix packet in place of one of the onion soup packets and cooked it on high for 2 hours and low for 2 1/2 hours due to time constraints and it was fork tender, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I have this recipe in my crockpot at the minute and it smells AMAZING! All I have left to do is thicken it up. I made this slightly differently by combining a few steps to make things a tad easier. I tossed the onion in with the potatoes and carrots. I also added a can of drained diced tomatoes and added a pinch of nutmeg. I added basic seasonings to the flour mixture I shook the meat in, i.e: garlic, black pepper, etc. I did not have fresh muchrooms, so I used a can of drained mushrooms and sauteed them with the minced garlic and the wine. Near the end of cooking I added about 1 to 2 cups of frozen peas. I am going to serve this with homemade rosemary bread on the side. A perfect fall dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was the best beef stew recipe I've used! It was definitely thick and hearty enough for my hubby, and the kids loved it, too. The only things I did differently were slice the onions into wide slices instead of quarters, and left out the mushrooms because we don't like them. I poured the wine directly into the crock pot. This was fantastic, and we will be having it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASVEGAZZZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States