Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Good but seemed to be lacking in something. Meat is very tender and tasty. Didn't care for mushrooms in it. Kids didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I have made this numerous times now and I can't make beef stew any other way. My son asked for this for his birthday meal! I follow the recipe except I don't put in the potatoes as I serve this over mashed potatoes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Great Recipe! I've been making and perfecting this for two years now. Everyone loves it! The extra work is worth it! The button mushrooms sauteed in red wine give this hearty stew an amazing flavor. Make certain you have a large crock pot. I followed the advice of a few other cooks and made the following "changes." 1. I use beef broth instead of water. I dedicate two cups of the broth for the onion soup mix, and then simply pour another cup into the stew in order to make more soup 2. I added two stalks of celery, finely chopped, for more flavor 3. I added one bay leaf for more flavor (removed after cooking.) 4. I added a can of peas for more flavor and texture 5. I added a pinch of allspice for more flavor Enjoy! If you follow the reciipe as is, the stew is a tad bland. Make the above additions (especially the beef broth to replace the water!) and you will NOT be disappointed! I've made this recipe a dozen times or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franklin
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was totally awesome I have been looking for a good beef stew recipe for years!! And i finally found it.. I have given some to friends and they give it 10 stars!!!! Thanks i love making this and enjoy the warm comfort of a good winter dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Overall as is this is a great recipe. I like that I'm able to change things up a bit with this recipe as the base and it comes out fantastic! Its also a recipe that you can do in the crock pot or if you are making this last minute it also does well on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
My new favorite stew recipe. Worth the extra effort when you figure once it's in the pot you don't have to do anything until it's time to dish it up.:) Made Best Bread Maching Bread from this site to go with it. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
The whole family loved this! I skipped dredging meat in flour, I skipped butter while cooking the onions/garlic (I just put them back in the pan the meat was in, no need for butter) and I skipped the corn starch. It will definitely be seen in our house again. THanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was a terrific "fancy" stew recipe. Much more complex in labor and flavors than run of the mill standard beef stews. I do agree with another reviewer who said some of the steps aren't really necessary, so do what works best for you. I don't buy onion soup mix as a rule, so I just made my own seasoned dried onion mixture using dried minced onion, celery seed, chives, parsley, beef bouillon granules, onion powder and garlic powder. I did go a little heavy on the pepper so it was a bit spicy for my family but that was this cook's error. Overall the recipe was incredible and I will definitely make it again. Kyle has great taste and has a great mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lagow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Tasted great but too many steps for slow cooker meal. I added veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This stew has a great flavor. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States