Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I have made this twice. The first time my only modification was to use reduced sodium beef broth and use only 1 packet of onion soup mix to further reduce the amount of salt. The end result was still too salty for my husband & I, and was also thicker than we prefer. But the taste was great! For the second preparation, I used broth without salt, 1 packet soup mix, and kept the salt for the meat as directed. Salt may be added as desired prior to thickening. I increased the broth by about half the original amount and removed the crockpot lid for the last 30 minutes rather than thickening. This left a nice gravy on the meat and vegetables. I also added about 2 tsp paprika to the flour mixture. The end result...a delicious stew that will be my only recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Made this today and cooked it all day on High in the Crock Pot. Meat came out "spoon tender!" I actually used a Sam's Club huge thing of stew meat (4+ lbs.)and made two Crock Pots worth "sort of" doubling the recipe. Gave the 2nd Crock Pot to a friend to take home to feed her family! Very Good Stew. Used some open Merlot for the wine in the mushrooms - worked great! Very versatile recipe and I am adding it to my Recipe Box! I didn't do the cornstarch step at the end. The potatoes had thickened it enough that I didn't feel like it was needed! Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Wonderful! It definitely will need to be cooked for 8 hours though, after 6 hours the carrots were still crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nutt Tanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I made this stew today. myself found it to be very lacking in flavor, followed it to the T and sorry will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I've made this recipe a few times by method of dump everything into the crockpot, usually forget the wine and mushrooms and end up with something edible. I also tend to do only 4 hrs and thought I over cooked the meat when it was tough. My sister raved about this recipe to me so this morning I followed the recipe exactly with some small shortcuts (jarred minced garlic and sliced mushrooms) and let it cook 6 hrs. It's a little bit of work but didn't take long and it's so worth it! The flavor was so good my husband didn't have to add salt like usual! I'm not a huge fan of mushrooms but they add such a great flavor! The meat fell apart! It's a great crockpot meal for the weekend when you want leftovers for the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
We love this recipe just the way it is! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I've made this recipe twice as written and both times it turned out great. The first time I made it was for a baby shower and all the ladies who tried it loved it. The second time was yesterday for my husband and myself, and he said "A thousand times yes. Don't change anything next time you make it." We're foodies who enjoy a wide range of foods, but also appreciate simple comfort food. This has great depth of flavor without alienating those who prefer simpler foods. I may secretly cut down on the number of onions next time just because there were so many floating around the stew. The recipe has quite a few steps, but if you're going to cut corners, definitely do not eliminate deglazing the skillet with the wine and mushrooms. That's where the great flavor comes from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. I didn't have red wine so I left that out and instead of two packages of onion soup mix, I added one mix onion and 1 package of ranch dressing mix. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
We liked this recipe very much. Even the kids loved it. It's quite a bit of work, but perfect for a dreary autumn Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
We loved it, enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States