Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I made this last night and actually followed the recipe. My husband, who is British, usually doesn't really like the American beef stews and prefers the potatoless UK ones. He all but licked his plate with this one. One thing I did, though, was what with living in the UK, I can get suet dumpling mix..so I did and they really fitted well with the stew. I'd think regular dumplings would be just as good. This recipe is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My family loved this stew! I used another reviewer's suggestion to save time. I combined beef bullion and one packet onion soup mix with two cups water and added that to the crock pot. Then I added a bit of steak seasoning to the flour to season the beef. Very yummy! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessyMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kodak, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
A great stew recipe. Both my husband and I loved this! The only modifications I made was I didn't add the mushrooms (we don't care for them) and substitued celery instead. We will definitely be adding this to our rotation during the winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I can see why this is "Kyle's Favorite" as this has definitely become a favorite in our house! I did however modify it a little to cut down on the number of steps. I added a little of garlic and onion powders along to the flour mixture and added the Worcestershire right to the crock pot. I also used whole baby carrots and whole baby red potatoes. I didn't bother with the boiling water, but rather added the onion soup mix right to the crock pot with beef broth. I also quartered a large vidalia onion, used portabella mushrooms, and added all that with the garlic and burgundy wine right to the crock pot along with a couple of bay leaves and let go for 8 hours on low. It smelled wonderful and thickened up nicely with the cornstarch mixture. It was wonderful with a side of french bread and a nice glass of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Excellent beef stew! I wanted a simple recipe to throw in the slow cooker while I was at work, and come home to a delicious home-cooked, hearty meal, and this certainly fits the bill. The night before I browned the stew meat & onions, and cut the veggies up, and made the onion soup mix, and then put them in the fridge all together. The next morning, before work, I just tossed it in the crock pot with a couple ounces of red wine, turned it on low and then went to work. I cooked it on low for 9 hours instead of an hour on high first, only because I knew I wouldn't make it home an hour later to turn the heat down. The results were amazing- the meat stayed in cubed form-rather than falling apart (I prefer it to stay cubed,) but was melt-in-your-mouth tender, and fork shreddable. The starch from the potatoes and the gelatin from slow cooking the meat caused the stew to be thick, and rich, without having to add any cornstarch. Since I was leaving town the following evening, I brought the leftovers to work so they wouldn't spoil in the fridge, and my co-workers all raved about how good this stew was. The only things I added were 2 bay leaves and about a tablespoon of Italian seasoning. The rest I followed. This recipe is certainly a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Delicious and intense flavors. I ended up needing another 1-1/2 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I wanted to try a beef stew that was a little more kicked up than my mom's recipe which I've always made. This definitely fit the bill. It smelled amazing while cooking and didn't disappoint. Although I was only cooking for two I made the full portion and I'm glad I did, my boyfriend ate 3 bowls and happily took the leftovers home. Only changes I made, as suggested by another reviewer was using beef broth instead of water with the soup mix, and I didn't boil the soup just put it right in the slow cooker. Also only used 1 onion rather than 3, I thought the soup mix would provide plenty of onion flavor. I didn't have burgundy wine so I used some pinot noir that was open. I suggest letting it cool a bit before eating, the flavors really came together once it wasn't piping hot anymore. I cooked on high for one hour as suggested, then put it on the 6 hr setting and let it finish. If I make again when I'm not going to be home to adjust the settings I think cooking straight through on the 8 hr setting would work just as well. I also used frozen peas instead of mushrooms, just added them during the last hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I have been looking for a good beef stew recipe because I'm not good with traditional dishes. I'm much better with Indian/Thai and other ethnic dishes. My husband eats just about anything and I could tell instantly that he didn't like it. At first I liked it but the more I ate the more I felt like I was eating onions. I only used 2 small onions too. I think I would omit the onions since it has onion soup in it, however, I probably won't make this again. Everything did cook nicely though, nothing was too mushy or crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was amazing!!! My husband loved it, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was a wonderful beef stew recipe both my husband and I really enjoyed it. I substituted chardonnay for the burgundy wine. I t was not as strong of a wine. Even my husband who doesn't like wine enjoyed this. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States