Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Vaneese
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
The thickness of this stew is great. However, as written, the recipe is very bland. There is also a lack of vegetables but they can easily be added if that is your taste. I'm glad that I had beef stew mix on hand and a great deal of seasonings :/. This recipe is just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vaneese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe started as a disaster, but turned out fantastic! My fault, i made the rookie mistake of not reading the recipe before diving in. I did not realize all the steps involved so did not prep everything beforehand like i should have. I also left the strap that prevents the top from rattling under the pot itself, where it melted and filled the house with the aroma of melted plastic. Then after browning the meat there was a solid layer of beef/flour tastiness that i was pretty sure would never come off the bottom of my fav stainless steel pan. However once i deglazed the pan with wine for the mushrooms it was presto! clean. Once i got everything in the crockpot my stress level decreased and soon the house smelled great, like beef not plastic. The only changes i made was to add 2 large unseeded jalapenos, diced, to the onions and garlic, and beef broth instead of water with the soup mix, although i did boil it over so it was not quite 2 cups. Also used baby portabella. Cooked for hr on high then 6 on low, put it in the fridge overnight since it finished at about 9:30 at night. So yummy the next day for lunch! Not my most stellar day in the kitchen, but it all turned out great and is some of the best beef stew i've ever had! Definitely a keeper, and next time i won't be such a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Had this stew for Christmas Eve for a few friends that were coming over. Raves all around. Husband says it was the best stew he has ever eaten. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
We prepared this recipe for the first time on Thanksgiving and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is a go to recipe for my family. It is a little more prep work than some crock pot meals, but worth it. It's a very hearty beef stew full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe was a lot of work and kind of bland. I do not think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
We just loved this Beef Stew it has been a long time looking for the right recipe and this is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! I left out the onions and mushrooms, due to my family's taste. They all loved this and the entire crock was gone when dinner was over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Hubby liked it, but for me, it is too much of the wine taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Excellent dish!!! The smells in my kitchen right now are amazing. I didn't have any wine at home (and didn't want to run to the store), so I used beef broth instead...it is very good, but I can't wait until next time to try with the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States