Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was absolutely delicious!!! The only difference is that I added more liquid because I like for there to be plenty of broth. Also, I skipped the cornstarch step. It wasn't thick on its own - but it was a consistency that I like for beef stew. My husband and I couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I've tried this recipe many times with all sorts of variations but it always manages to be either too salty or bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I have finally stopped looking for a stew recipe! We love this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very good. I used beef broth instead of the burgundy wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I use beef broth instead of onion soup mix and it is scrumptious! I prefer shiitake mushrooms though as I like their more earthy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I don't always follow a recipe word for word but I did this one and it was very bland and not great by any stretch. The meat was very tender and that is sometimes "tough" to do with stew meat but otherwise it wasn't a meal I could be proud of. Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I love this stew!! I make it almost exactly as written except for adding some garlic powder and pepper to the flour. fills my crock pot and then I freeze individual servings for lunches! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Best stew I ever had! In my boyfriend's words: "You can serve this to people". He even had seconds and does not really like stew. I did add a large can of diced tomatoes and subbed yams and celery for the potatoes and the mushrooms (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Followed recipe exact but did not add mushrooms.The stew was good before adding the water/corn starch in the end. Made it WAY to thick, my husband and son wouldnt even eat it. I added more water and that helped but i dont think we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I'm only giving it 4* because I did alter it a bit, so I didn't want to deceive other cooks. That's why I love this site so much - it gives me a running start on a recipe and then I can make it my "own" ! We all have different tastes and ways of cooking so these recipes can help inspire us and come up with a dish that is pleasing. I added a bit of celery browned after the beef and eliminated the potatoes because I made mashed to serve the stew over. I didn't seem to have to thicken the stew so didn't use the cornstarch either. The results (for us) - a DEEELICIOUS meal. I had a person visiting who doesn't like tomatoes so I looked for a recipe that didn't have tomatoes included. I LOVE THIS SITE - thanks for so many inspiring recipes !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States