Kung Wow Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I found this do-able but there are quite a few ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lovejoy, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made this last night for dinner and OH MAN was it good...my husband said it was better than Panda. I made it following every step except i used red wine vinegar in place of the white because i simply didn't have any. Other than that it was awesome!! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
My family loved this! I didn't have zucchini, so I added snow peas and celery and chopped fresh ginger with the garlic. Since I had 2 lbs of chicken, I doubled the recipe. I didn't use rice but chinese noodles. The recipe looks a little overwhelming with all the ingredients, but since I had most of the stuff (or if I didn't, it was easy to buy at the local grocery store) it really wasn't hard to make. My husband says it's definitely a "make again"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Chef John has delivered us another great recipe! Delicious! I was all out of wine so I subbed beer* for the wine in the recipe and it was still awesome. I used 1 cup zucchini, 1 cup broccoli and ½ cup yellow onion in favor of using the red bell pepper. Chef John said to use any veggie of your choice. I omitted the jalapeno pepper because I didn’t want it to be too spicy hot for my guests. I doubled the sauce, except I decreased the chili paste to 1½ Tbsp and the brown sugar** to just 1Tbsp. I served it over steamed brown rice and it was an incredible meal. Everyone loved it. Thanks Chef John!!! * Beer, (Bud, Coors or Miller), always works as a nice substitute for white wine in any recipe. ** Even 1 Tbsp brown sugar is almost too sweet for this recipe. I recommend using less brown sugar unless you love the sweetness of Orange Chicken and Sesame Chicken entrées.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Greggie House
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I can't say enough about this recipe! It was fantastic! I did cut down on the vegetables a little bit, using only one cup of each of the zucchini and pepper just to keep the veggie to meat ratio more to my liking. Also, I didn't have any sambal so I pureed some of my canned diced tomatoes with green chiles, added some chile powder, and went on with the recipe. I don't think it took too long to prepare at all, especially when you have all kinds of time to prepare while you let the chicken marinate. Absolutely awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greggie House
Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Very good. Maybe not authentic but lots of flavour. Even the picky eaters in my house liked it...they picked out the zucchini and peppers...but they liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
added more veggies and some celery. I also doubled all the sauce--it was probably too much. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emrald5769

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I followed the recipe and it turned out with an excess of liquid. Cornstarch did not thicken the sauce. It was very bland for the amount of ingredients required. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
great recipe! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great recipe. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs. I believe that they have more flavor and are less dry, and cheaper than chicken breasts. I also added 1 star anise after the vegetables and the more complex flavor it added was great. I definetly will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States