Kung Pao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I thought this was pretty close to my favorite Chinese restaraunt. I have made it twice and both times my husband ate it. He's not a fan of any Asian cuisine. The recipe was easy to follow and requires few ingredients. When I search for recipes I look for recipes that do not require 20 ingredients that I'll never use again. This was perfect. The only thing I had to get that I don't usually have is the chile paste, but I will definitely keep it on hand now. The flavor and spice were perfectly balanced. The sauce was thick and I did add water and let simmer before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
excellent receipe -I doubled the sauce and added 3 green onions and made quiona instead of rice..lots of flavor!!! just as good as resturant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamara
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I used 3 chix breast And doubled the sauce ingredients except chile power and sesame oil. That yielded plenty of sauce.. Added red and some green bell peppers and a sparse amount of whole chile dried peppers chopped and seeded. Just for fun added a little chile powder and brown sugar to my peanuts before frying. I in the past have always bought my Kung pao sauce and it can be pricey .. My husband liked this as much as store bought.... Thanks allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. First, I tripled the marinade & sauce. There was way too much sesame oil flavor; also way too much cornstarch. If you use the amount it calls for (like I did), it ends up way too pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Absolutely delicious. I had to add about a cup of chicken broth to the mixture in the skillet in order to have a sauce. Mine was much too thick. I have not been able to locate hot chili paste, so substituted a healthy squirt of sriracha instead. I mistakenly put in 1 tablespoon (not teaspoon) of the vinegar (I used roasted garlic rice vinegar), so increased the brown sugar to a scant tablespoon. For the wine I used cooking sherry, which I had on hand. This was absolutely delicious. We ate it over orzo, though of course brown rice would be a healthier choice. This went straight to the top of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Very good dish. From other reviewers' comments I doubled the marinate and sauce. In fact, with the sauce, it was doubled and then I added extra water so there would be plenty and it was perfect. I didn't have hot chili paste so I made my own: I finely chopped 4 serrano chilies and sautéed in 1 tbsp. olive oil for 5 min. and added 1 minced garlic clove and simmered for 10 more min., stirring often on low heat. Remove from heat and add 1/2 tsp. vinegar. This makes enough for several batches of Kung Pao Chicken as I used just 2 tsp. of this for the sauce and labeled and froze the rest. My son, who is a captain in the Marines and loves spicy Asian food, was home for Christmas, and loved it. Thanks Arlena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This tasted nothing like Kung Pao Chicken from a restaurant, but it's a pretty tasty dish in its own right. I doubled the amount of sauce and reduced the chile paste by 25%. Even with the reduction in chile paste, it still came out very spicy, so be careful if you don't like your food to be really spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rudolf Felix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Decent enough flavours. Curious as to why all of the ingredient measurements are in tsp or tbsp and the chili sauce is in ounces. That threw me off in the middle of my prep. I included a heaping tsp of sambal oelek only in fear of it being too hot. I could have added 3 or 4 tsp I think. We had it over paleo cauliflower rice from this site. Great combo. Thanks Arlena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was extremely bland and lacked any heat or flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christopher Jakob
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
The sauce quantity in my opinion is good for only one serving I made full sauce eith one cut chicken breast, and preferred it. Take note
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Jakob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 741) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States