Kung Pao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
It's not unusual for me to eat Chinese out two or three times per week, so I have a LOT of experience in eating Chinese food. I've been to 90% of the Chinese restaurants in the metro area I live in. And hey--this stuff passes the test. It's the first time I've tried cooking Chinese and I can't believe how easy it was. Further, it turned out fabulously. It's as good or better than most Chinese restaurants. Here's what I did: 1) used champagne instead of white wine; it's what I had available, 2) absolutely double, triple or quad the recipe; if you don't eat it now, you will eat it later ... the recipe doesn't make very much unless you eat like a bird, 3) for my family, the hot level was perfect ... it was certainly hot, but not too hot, 4) the sauce WAS a little thick--I will try decreasing the cornstarch next time ... as it was, adding water worked for me too, 5) if you can't find chile paste at your local grocery store, check out almost any Asian grocery store--they will likely have many choices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
454 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I think this is my all time favorite recipe. I have made it dozens of times and all my friends and family say it's the best thing I make! I do make a few alterations though, which I find absolutely crucial: Double the marinade and the sauce, add lots and lots of water as the mixture cooks - otherwise it gets really pasty. I would say throughout the cooking process I end up adding at least a cup of water. You want to make sure there's enough sauce to cover the noodles. I also add several cups of chopped up veggies; usually red and green peppers, mushrooms and broccoli. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Yummy. Restaurant quality. Had to alter quite a bit. Took the orginal recipe for marinade: used rice wine,1 clove of garlic and reduced the sesame oil to 1 tsp. Did not add cornstarch to marinade. 5X the recipe of soy sauce, rice wine, vinegar, brown sugar, and 1 clove of garlic, 2 tsp. of chile paste, and 1 tbsp of cornstarch with 2 tbsp of water. Stir fried the chicken first and set aside. Then stir fried brocolli, mushrooms, carrots and green onions together. Added sauce and then chicken. Couldn't add peanuts due to allergy. Rave reviews from Dad and 2 kids. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This was a terrific dish and perfect for my spicey food loving family. I couldn't find chile paste in the grocery store, so I subbed with a spicey szechuan sauce. I tripled the marinade and quadrupled the sauce even though I only used four chicken cutlets. Didn't have any peanuts, so I used peanut butter, which I often do in asian dishes. I added broccoli and baby corn to make a complete meal. Thanks Arlena, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I followed this exactly as written (saw many favorable reviews that had made many changes). I love spicy food, but this did not have a good flavor hot and there was not enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I didn't have chile paste, so I threw in some red pepper. I tripled the sauce recipe because I added baby corn, green bell pepper, and thinly sliced carrots and it wouldn't have been enough once I added the chicken. The sauce got really thick though & had to add some water to thin it down a bit. You may have to adjust this one to your own taste. It's good, but I needed to play around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
WOW! I was afraid to try this recipe as I've never had success with an Asian recipe. But, this blew me and my family away! It is so tasty!! The only thing I did different was to double the sauce (though not the waterchestnuts; 1 can is enough for us). I will make this many times over. It is fantastic. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Very delicious,my dish was not quite PF Changs but great anyway. I found only hot chili sauce in the Asian Market so I used that, the apartment smelled wonderful. Problems I encountered were: The cornstarch in the chicken marinade started to burn and stick when I browned it, and the cornstarch in the marinade itself was too much so instead of a sauce I got a thick paste, to which I kept adding water(suggestion: use a little less cornstarch). Finally the sugar was not enough for my liking so next time I will use a bit more...otherwise really really tasty. My husband and I ate every scrap. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This was very, very yummy. I did a few things differently. I decreased the amount of sesame oil. I added mushrooms and broccoli to the sauce and sauteed the chicken in flavored wok oil. I didn't want the sauce to be too strong for my hubby and four-year-old so I doubled the sauce recipe and added about a cup of chicken broth and an extra bit of cornstarch. I omitted the chili paste but added red pepper flakes to my plate to heat it up. I didn't have any peanuts so I had to shell some from the African Gray's stash so they were unsalted. I can't wait to make it again. By the way, the bird thought it was top notch too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Great marinade! Chicken is made quite tender...I only used 1/2T oil, and 1 T chile paste, and added a t of sugar to balance out the flavors. :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 692) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States