Kung Pao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I would probably give this recipe 4.5 stars. The entire family really liked it. My wife added carrots, mushrooms and peppers to the base recipe and it was delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlechef
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Tastes great! I had a thanksgiving party and everyone loved it. I used cooking wine as white wine, chilli with black beans as hot chille paste, and Chinese vinegar as white vinegar. In recipes, cooking doesn't need oil, but I added anyway. I didn't discard the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Quick and easy and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Loved it - didn't have any chili paste on hand so used 1 TB Sriracha instead. Had a nice bite but I think I may add a bit more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is pretty good however the trick to authentic Chinese cooking is always use fresh chopped garlic & chopped fresh ginger while marinating the chicken, use Chinese wine or dry sherry & regular oil to stir fry the chicken & use the marinade (please no brown sugar) to cook the chicken thighs (not breasts) until tender, adding chicken stock as needed. Traditional Kung Pao chicken doesn't have any veggies except green onions, garlic, ginger & perhaps a green bell pepper along with small red dried chilies (add them when stir frying chicken) or chili pepper flakes. After chicken is tender add bell pepper, if using & some more soy sauce, stock, chili paste to taste, cook until crisp tender & add chop green onions, peanuts & sesame oil...if you want more sauce, simply combine cornstarch & stock until blended & add to the cooked Kung Pao mixture, high heat, stiring to cook & thicken the sauce...serve over steamed jasmine rice, pass the chop sticks & enjoy! I am from San Francisco so I know Chinese style cooking & Kung Pao chicken (or shrimp or beef) is one of my favorite dishes to order or make at home. Adding veggies such as brocolli, carrots, celery & mushrooms is spicy stir fry NOT Kung Pao chicken. This recipe is very nice but not authentic...Chinese cooks use thighs not expensive chicken breasts fyi, lol. Adding sesame oil at the end of cooking adds flavor as a finishing oil (like extra virgin oil in other non Asian recipes is a flavor enhancer). Also if you do not have fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jnenz05
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is a great recipie. I followed some of the suggestions for making more sauce and it was great. Coated the chicken with double the recipe amount as well to accommodate my large family. It was a hit. Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jnenz05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
My husband really enjoyed this recipe thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
great recipe for a starter i used Asian hot-sauce instead of paste because the local grocery didn't carry it definitely triple the marinade and sauce measurements i also add thinly sliced carrots and broccoli flowerettes stir fry carrots two minutes add broccoli two minutes more add chicken then follow the recipe if its too pastey for your liking just add some warm water as i did very tasty ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noturbone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I had two nice sized chicken breast, so doubled the marinade after reading the reviews. I cooked some stir fry veggies separately and added in with the chicken. I think next time I won't chop the nuts, they sort of got lost in the mix. Mine didn't turn out a gorgeous red color like the picture, but I noticed most photos didn't either, I wonder how they got such a deep gorgeous color? Anyhow it was very good tender and just spicy enough for us, I used Sambel Oelek chili paste, I find it at the World Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
The sauce was great. Had a good kick to it, but wasn't too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States