Kung Pao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I purchased all of the ingredients for this dish and followed other reviewers advise of doubling the recipe for the marinade and the sauce. The only changes I made were to add yellow pepper and broccoli as others had done. Hated it. The only flavor was spice and I LOVE a spicy dish, Kung Pao being one of my favorites, but this had no other flavor at all. It definitely needed more salt or say sauce, I added salt because it was so tasteless. I gave it two stars because the chicken was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Me & picky kids loved this! I consider myself a "beginner" cook and found this an easy dish to make with a lot of good flavor! I had to make a few substitutions because I didnt have it all on hand. Instead of green onions, I used onion flakes. Instead of fresh garlic I used granulated garlic. Did not have water chestnuts so had to omit. Sauce does get thick and I added water a few times, but still came out yummy! Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Nice marinade and sauce. I made a few additions by increasing all sauce quantities by ~50%, and sauteing some chopped celery and cabbage in the same manner as the chicken and throwing that into the pan with everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Excellent! Just had to add some stock to make it less thick since I was eating it with rice, very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I would probably give this recipe 4.5 stars. The entire family really liked it. My wife added carrots, mushrooms and peppers to the base recipe and it was delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlechef
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Tastes great! I had a thanksgiving party and everyone loved it. I used cooking wine as white wine, chilli with black beans as hot chille paste, and Chinese vinegar as white vinegar. In recipes, cooking doesn't need oil, but I added anyway. I didn't discard the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Quick and easy and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Loved it - didn't have any chili paste on hand so used 1 TB Sriracha instead. Had a nice bite but I think I may add a bit more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is pretty good however the trick to authentic Chinese cooking is always use fresh chopped garlic & chopped fresh ginger while marinating the chicken, use Chinese wine or dry sherry & regular oil to stir fry the chicken & use the marinade (please no brown sugar) to cook the chicken thighs (not breasts) until tender, adding chicken stock as needed. Traditional Kung Pao chicken doesn't have any veggies except green onions, garlic, ginger & perhaps a green bell pepper along with small red dried chilies (add them when stir frying chicken) or chili pepper flakes. After chicken is tender add bell pepper, if using & some more soy sauce, stock, chili paste to taste, cook until crisp tender & add chop green onions, peanuts & sesame oil...if you want more sauce, simply combine cornstarch & stock until blended & add to the cooked Kung Pao mixture, high heat, stiring to cook & thicken the sauce...serve over steamed jasmine rice, pass the chop sticks & enjoy! I am from San Francisco so I know Chinese style cooking & Kung Pao chicken (or shrimp or beef) is one of my favorite dishes to order or make at home. Adding veggies such as brocolli, carrots, celery & mushrooms is spicy stir fry NOT Kung Pao chicken. This recipe is very nice but not authentic...Chinese cooks use thighs not expensive chicken breasts fyi, lol. Adding sesame oil at the end of cooking adds flavor as a finishing oil (like extra virgin oil in other non Asian recipes is a flavor enhancer). Also if you do not have fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jnenz05
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is a great recipie. I followed some of the suggestions for making more sauce and it was great. Coated the chicken with double the recipe amount as well to accommodate my large family. It was a hit. Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jnenz05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 740) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States