Kung Pao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Tamara
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I used 3 chix breast And doubled the sauce ingredients except chile power and sesame oil. That yielded plenty of sauce.. Added red and some green bell peppers and a sparse amount of whole chile dried peppers chopped and seeded. Just for fun added a little chile powder and brown sugar to my peanuts before frying. I in the past have always bought my Kung pao sauce and it can be pricey .. My husband liked this as much as store bought.... Thanks allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. First, I tripled the marinade & sauce. There was way too much sesame oil flavor; also way too much cornstarch. If you use the amount it calls for (like I did), it ends up way too pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Absolutely delicious. I had to add about a cup of chicken broth to the mixture in the skillet in order to have a sauce. Mine was much too thick. I have not been able to locate hot chili paste, so substituted a healthy squirt of sriracha instead. I mistakenly put in 1 tablespoon (not teaspoon) of the vinegar (I used roasted garlic rice vinegar), so increased the brown sugar to a scant tablespoon. For the wine I used cooking sherry, which I had on hand. This was absolutely delicious. We ate it over orzo, though of course brown rice would be a healthier choice. This went straight to the top of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Very good dish. From other reviewers' comments I doubled the marinate and sauce. In fact, with the sauce, it was doubled and then I added extra water so there would be plenty and it was perfect. I didn't have hot chili paste so I made my own: I finely chopped 4 serrano chilies and sautéed in 1 tbsp. olive oil for 5 min. and added 1 minced garlic clove and simmered for 10 more min., stirring often on low heat. Remove from heat and add 1/2 tsp. vinegar. This makes enough for several batches of Kung Pao Chicken as I used just 2 tsp. of this for the sauce and labeled and froze the rest. My son, who is a captain in the Marines and loves spicy Asian food, was home for Christmas, and loved it. Thanks Arlena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This tasted nothing like Kung Pao Chicken from a restaurant, but it's a pretty tasty dish in its own right. I doubled the amount of sauce and reduced the chile paste by 25%. Even with the reduction in chile paste, it still came out very spicy, so be careful if you don't like your food to be really spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rudolf Felix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Decent enough flavours. Curious as to why all of the ingredient measurements are in tsp or tbsp and the chili sauce is in ounces. That threw me off in the middle of my prep. I included a heaping tsp of sambal oelek only in fear of it being too hot. I could have added 3 or 4 tsp I think. We had it over paleo cauliflower rice from this site. Great combo. Thanks Arlena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was extremely bland and lacked any heat or flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christopher Jakob
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
The sauce quantity in my opinion is good for only one serving I made full sauce eith one cut chicken breast, and preferred it. Take note
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Jakob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Very tasty but I did make a few modifications. As several reviews suggested, I doubled the sauce except for the green onions, peanuts and water chestnuts. I used the Splenda brown sugar (requires 1/2 the amount) Before I sautéed the chicken I sautéed eight dried red red chili peppers with most of the seeds removed. I wanted it a little spicy so I left some seeds. Finally, I added chopped zucchini just so I could call it healthy. It was delicious and my husband liked it as well. I will try it with shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Awesome recipe!!!!! It was my first attempt at cooking Chinese and I was worried it wouldn't be that tasty. WRONG. It was fantastic. I doubled the recipe because there are 5 of us and it was just enough. Next time I will triple the recipe and maybe add other veggies. Great recipe though and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States