Kung Pao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Had this for dinner tonight and it was absolutely delicious!! I did have to add one cup of water to the sauce and let that thicken up a bit before adding the chicken, but other than that the recipe was perfect. So full of flavour and great consistency, we'll be making this a lot at our house from now on. Also, for those who can't find chilli paste, we substituted 5 red chillis which we ground up with the mortar and pestle, along with a tablespoon of hot chilli sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I omitted the Water Chestnuts, and substituted pork for chicken and sherry for wine, and the recepie turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Count_Zero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
In this form, not hot at all - will have to give it another go with way more chili paste, maybe some ginger too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Love this recipe. Did what others suggested and doubled the sauce. I used shrimp instead of chicken and added onions, mushrooms and bok choy. Served over rice. This one will definitely be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Since I didn't have and never used Hot Chili Paste I substituted Hoisin Sauce with is more like a paste away. Some of the other Kung Pao recipes I found online used also called for Hoisin. I also added 1/2 tsp Sriracha Sauce (a type of chili/hot sauce). Next time I'll add more because it was still very mild. Both Housin and Sriricha sauce are used in most my Chinese dishes so I knew I couldn't go wrong. This dish turned out great. Will definitely fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
...it was just okay, and really nothing to get excited about. Take a look at the ingredients, and really, what you see is what you get. There are considerably better kung pao recipes than this with a greater depth of flavor with a lot less work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Delicious and easy to make--so much better than the take-out restaurant's version! You can vary the chili paste to your liking, and I left off the peanuts because I didn't have any. But I bet they'd add a nice crunch to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Quadrupled recipe and used chunky peanut butter instead of peanuts as that's what we had on hand. Won't do that again. I think I'll just lightly chop the peanuts for more crunch next time, larger size than what's in the crunchy peanut butter because they just got lost, but that was my fault. Might go a bit lighter on the cornstarch and brown sugar when making it for 4 people. GREAT FLAVOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Adding this to my favorite recipes. The only things I did different were to use red pepper flakes in the sauce instead of chili paste, double the sauce because I also threw in a package of chopped mushrooms (mushrooms were cut into quarters, not sliced) and cooked the mushrooms at the same time as the chicken. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I just made this for a Chinese New Year celebration we are hosting. We "love" this recipe, but I could only give it 4 stars because it needed some changes to get it right. First off, do NOT use as much cornstarch as it calls for in the sauce. I had to add chicken broth to it because it was like paste rather than a nice thick sauce. Otherwise the ingredient ratio was perfect. I actually baked my chicken in the oven, just for ease and it's a little healthier. I just cut it into pieces, threw them on a cookie sheet and in the oven at 350 for 15 minutes. Perfect! I sauteed some diced green pepper, chopped carrot, diced onion and celery in my wok and then added the sauce mixture and cooked until the sauce thickened. I added the veggies because anytime I order this at a restaurant some or all of those veggies are in the dish. I put 3/4 of the peanuts in the sauce. I put the baked chicken into a serving dish, poured the sauce and veggie mixture over top, gave it a good stir and used the remaining peanuts (I crushed them) sprinkled over the top to garnish, along with the scallions. Overall this was a great recipe and I will definitely make it again. Even my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 719) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States