Kung Pao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I was not impressed with this recipe. I thought since it has 700+ reviews & 4 1/2 stars, it'd be a sure thing, but alas, I was wrong. My husband ate it (but he'll eat almost anything) so it wasn't a total loss. First, I had to triple the marinade & sauce recipe. Second, way too much sesame oil in the original recipe; I should've only used one tsp instead of the tbsp the recipe calls for. It tasted more like sesame chicken instead of kung pao chicken. Third, this recipe uses way too much cornstarch. If you use the amount it calls for (like I did), it ends up way too pasty. Usually if a recipe doesn't turn out well for me the first time, I'll tweak it & give it another go, but this recipe has no redeeming qualities without changing it altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Absolutely delicious. I had to add about a cup of chicken broth to the mixture in the skillet in order to have a sauce. Mine was much too thick. I have not been able to locate hot chili paste, so substituted a healthy squirt of sriracha instead. I mistakenly put in 1 tablespoon (not teaspoon) of the vinegar (I used roasted garlic rice vinegar), so increased the brown sugar to a scant tablespoon. For the wine I used cooking sherry, which I had on hand. This was absolutely delicious. We ate it over orzo, though of course brown rice would be a healthier choice. This went straight to the top of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Very good dish. From other reviewers' comments I doubled the marinate and sauce. In fact, with the sauce, it was doubled and then I added extra water so there would be plenty and it was perfect. I didn't have hot chili paste so I made my own: I finely chopped 4 serrano chilies and sautéed in 1 tbsp. olive oil for 5 min. and added 1 minced garlic clove and simmered for 10 more min., stirring often on low heat. Remove from heat and add 1/2 tsp. vinegar. This makes enough for several batches of Kung Pao Chicken as I used just 2 tsp. of this for the sauce and labeled and froze the rest. My son, who is a captain in the Marines and loves spicy Asian food, was home for Christmas, and loved it. Thanks Arlena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This tasted nothing like Kung Pao Chicken from a restaurant, but it's a pretty tasty dish in its own right. I doubled the amount of sauce and reduced the chile paste by 25%. Even with the reduction in chile paste, it still came out very spicy, so be careful if you don't like your food to be really spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rudolf Felix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Decent enough flavours. Curious as to why all of the ingredient measurements are in tsp or tbsp and the chili sauce is in ounces. That threw me off in the middle of my prep. I included a heaping tsp of sambal oelek only in fear of it being too hot. I could have added 3 or 4 tsp I think. We had it over paleo cauliflower rice from this site. Great combo. Thanks Arlena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was extremely bland and lacked any heat or flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christopher Jakob
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
The sauce quantity in my opinion is good for only one serving I made full sauce eith one cut chicken breast, and preferred it. Take note
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Jakob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Very tasty but I did make a few modifications. As several reviews suggested, I doubled the sauce except for the green onions, peanuts and water chestnuts. I used the Splenda brown sugar (requires 1/2 the amount) Before I sautéed the chicken I sautéed eight dried red red chili peppers with most of the seeds removed. I wanted it a little spicy so I left some seeds. Finally, I added chopped zucchini just so I could call it healthy. It was delicious and my husband liked it as well. I will try it with shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Awesome recipe!!!!! It was my first attempt at cooking Chinese and I was worried it wouldn't be that tasty. WRONG. It was fantastic. I doubled the recipe because there are 5 of us and it was just enough. Next time I will triple the recipe and maybe add other veggies. Great recipe though and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I liked how it turned out. I had only added a bit of chilli Thai pepper sauce to the final dish. Stand alone, I would recommend it for simplicity sake. I added some extra veggies to bulk it up. 3.8/10 Would cook again to stretch a dollar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Mattila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kung Pao Chicken

Make spicy kung pao chicken that rivals your favorite Chinese restaurant’s versio

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States