Kumquats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Plenty sweet but still has that kumquat kick to it. I halved and seeded the kumquats before cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Fantastic! Like another reviewer I cut the kumquats in half and deseeded them before cooking. I ate them warm with vanilla bean ice cream. A yummy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
The amount of sugar added to the Kumquats was just right, but I also added half a cup of water to make it into a syrup rather than being thick like jam. I served the Kumquats hot over vanilla ice cream. I like the idea of serving them with waffles and crepes, a sort of modern crepe suzette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amanzimtoti, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I cooked the kumquats whole and de-seeded them after they had cooled. They were too bitter for me. I am going to try making another batch, but will slice and de-seed prior to boiling to see if it absorbs more sugar and tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
What an interesting way to prepare kumquats. I LOVE this fruit and all the tartness that comes with each bite. I made this recipe as written but when they finished cooking I saved half to eat like the recipe suggest and the other half I blended up with my hand-held blender to use as a jam. For me personally, the next time I will add less sugar because now they are very sweet and as I mentioned above the tartness is what I love about them. I saved the liquid that was drained off and added some of it to a smoothie and used the rest in place of the cold water when I made jello. Nothing wasted! I really like this recipe and will try it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This is the best recipe you aren't eating. I bought some kumquats on a whim and got them home, tried to eat one, and OMGYUCK. Like biting a lemon. So I decided to see what else could be done, and found this recipe. I cut them in half & de-seeded them; it doesn't specifically say to do that but I thought the description seemed to bear this idea out. I didn't drain mine at the end, and the sauce, as it cools, gels into ...well, jelly. The flavor can best be described as orange marmalade. We ate it over slices of pound cake, and I thought it was a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I didn't weigh my Kumquats before I cooked them, but I made this recipes with one pint of kumquats, 1/4 c. sugar and 4 dashes of cinnamon. I think it tasted pretty good. I didn't like they kumquats raw because they were too sour but the sugar certainly helps. I think you could probably use this as a breakfast topping for waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I prefer plain, fresh kumquats to these cooked ones, but the syrup they were cooked in was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This made agreat side dish. I also saved the syrup I poured off and it makes a nice drink in club soda (like an Italian soda).If you like things very sweet you will want to ad more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HANNA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This was a great recipe. I sliced the kumquats and added two teaspoons of cherry wine. After draining it, I used the 'juice' to prepare cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urb. San Antonio, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Hiyashi Chuka Noodles

Japanese-inspired chilled noodle and vegetable salad.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States