Kumquat Marmalade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Some of the the reviews on here make it seem that many who try this recipe don't realize that a marmalade is traditionally very different than a jam or jelly. It is supposed to have large pieces of rind in it. This is where the natural pectin is and what causes the gelling of the liquid. The preserved rind and juice of citrus is the definition of marmalade, it originated with the ancients, the Greeks, the Romans, the Byzantine s. It was a way to not waste any part of a fruit, or to use fruit that was of less quality. It was the Romans that originally brought the recipes for it to the British Isles, and then a 1000 years later during the 17th and 18th centuries, as it was all the rage to revamp anything from the ancient world, the recipes traveled with European colonists to the new world and were adapted to add new crops that they"discovered " growing here, such as sugar cane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I have also followed this recipe and ended up with a "runny, good tasting" result. Not wanting to waste it, I tried using it in a boxed cake mix with good results when making a pound cake. Follow box directions, but substitute the runny marmalade for the amount of water. Bake in loaf pans. Excellent with any citrus flavored cake mix, especially if topped with a light lemon flavored glaze. In fact, I continue to jar "runny" marmalade just for making these cakes. I also drastically reduce the water amounts at other times and end up with a GREAT jelled marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I've been making this recipe for 15 years, but always used 6 cups or 1.5 quart of water. The amount of sugar depends on the amount of the liquid/fruit you boiled. Also I don't boil for too long before adding the sugar, maybe for 20 or 30 minutes, as I like the rind with a little bite to it. GREAT TIP: to remove the pits from the kumquats, cut them across in half and use a metal cuticle tool to scoop them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
this was my first attempt at making marmalade. I used pink grapefruit instead of oranges because that's what I had and added some fresh ginger and a little mulling spice, and it turned out beautiful and tart. I didn't change the recipe at all other than that. it was confusing to me to have the citrus slices so large. didn't seem appetizing so I put the fruit in the blender before the last gel stage to chop it up finer. if I make marmalade again I'll reference this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grace Coverdale
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
The flavours in this marmalade are good. I followed the recommendation of 2 cups of water per cup of fruit, though still found I had too much liquid. It's not a major problem if you have put in too much water, just keep it simmering for longer prior to putting the sugar in to let it reduce to approximately half. If you've already put the sugar in, do not panic, just keep the rolling boil going. Don't worry about the temperature so much if you have got the rolling boil going. Have a plate in the freezer and when you want to check if the marmalade is ready take the plate out of the freezer and put a teaspoonful of the mixture on the plate. Then put the plate back in the freezer for approximately a minute. Take the plate out of the freezer and with your finger gently push the edge of the marmalade on the plate. When you push you are looking for a rippling effect. Ideally when you push you want the ripples to be close together rather than one or two ripples spread out through the dollop of marmalade. If on your first test you get only one or two ripples, keep the roiling boil going, put the plate back in the freezer and check again by repeating the process 15 minutes later. Keep checking until the desired consistency is reached. Once you have a good cluster of ripples when you push, you can take the marmalade off the heat and start decanting it into your jars. One more tip for the scum on the top at the end. Put a little bit of butter in and stir until it dissolves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Coverdale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Followed others advise and added less water and less sugar. I added the orange peel from only 1/4 orange finely julienned; I soaked all finely chopped fruit in water for about 1 hour. Added pectin and a bit of vanilla. It is DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I used this recipe last night. I didn't get a marmalade that is a thick as I like. I did reduce the amount of sugar by a cup or two which may hav affected te gelling. & also used a 2/1 ratio w/ the fruit and water (instead of 3/1). If I were to make this again, I'd probably add pectin, & def wuduse a food processor to make sure the skins r finely chopped enough and to take the time to remove the pith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
is good. Reduced water from 3 cups to 2 to make sure there wasn't too much liquid in there. Also reduced sugar from 1 cup to 3/4 cup. Also added Habanero for a nice bite to the marmalade. Addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Neighbors gave me probably 20 kumquats. This was a great way to use them up, and I gave him a jar. This week, he brought me a bowl of 2-3 pounds of kumquats and an empty jar. Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this today and since I tend to be impatient I didn't let the fruit soak. I only used enough water to just cover the top of the fruit in the pan and put it on to boil. I think all total boiling and simmering time was around two hours. It got up to 221F and gelled beautifully. Made some toast tonight and put it on it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Varnadoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States