Kulfi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
So easy to make and delicious. I served this to many of my Indian friends at work and they were quite impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This is incredible! I used cardamom and cinnamon and it turned out amazing. Thanks for the recipe!! We will have this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I tried this recipe for a potluck and everyone enjoyed it, it was like icecream, too sweetish for my taste, but it is not like the traditional kulfi taste. i tried it with whole wheat bread and guests liked it, but white bread was more better. not like kulfi but a very easy and good recipe. i also added little saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I must admit I was a bit suspicious about a dessert with white bread in it, but this is fantastic! I made it once on a whim because I needed a quick dessert for a dinner party and all my friends loved it! EVERYONE will be asking for the recipe. Do try it with 1/3 c. chopped pistachios.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Great recipe, almost like my mom's. We use one can each of the ev. and condensed milk, 8oz of cool whip and 2 pieces of bread. Also I've added pistachios and almonds minced to the recipe. Another great idea is adding food coloring, you can stage freeze different colors for a rainbow kulfi effect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Wasn't the best. A little too sweet for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I made a few changes: I grounded up the cardomom seeds cuz I didnt have any powder and added cinnamon. A wonderful recipe - it was a hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Very good, but much better with a few changes. I thought the original recipe came out too sweet, and the cool-whip gave it a strange, gummy texture. The second time I made it, I scalded (almost boiled) the evaporated milk, sweetened condensed milk, and 1 1/2 cups whipping cream with 1 teaspoon cardamom seeds (instead of ground cardamom). Then I blended 3/4 cups regular milk with the bread. I strained the scaled milks into the bread mixture to remove the cardamom seeds, and it in the fridge to cool off. Then I put it in the ice cream maker... it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGGIWEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Excellent! I've never made Kulfi before, but in the past two weeks since I've discovered this recipe, I've made it twice already. I did as suggested and substituted fat free evaporated milk and Cool Whip Lite. I also blended the bread and Cool Whip first to avoid overflowing the blender too much, then added the milks. I also had some trouble sprinkling the cardamom without clumping it, but managed it by finger sprinkling it. I sprinkled the cardamom on before freezing it. Swirling the cardamom into the top layer seemed to give it a bit more flavor. A fantastic recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
It was kind of gritty, that's my only complaint. Tastes kinda like vanilla....but not really lol. I might make it again, but probably not for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States