Kulfi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This is incredible! I used cardamom and cinnamon and it turned out amazing. Thanks for the recipe!! We will have this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I tried this recipe for a potluck and everyone enjoyed it, it was like icecream, too sweetish for my taste, but it is not like the traditional kulfi taste. i tried it with whole wheat bread and guests liked it, but white bread was more better. not like kulfi but a very easy and good recipe. i also added little saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I must admit I was a bit suspicious about a dessert with white bread in it, but this is fantastic! I made it once on a whim because I needed a quick dessert for a dinner party and all my friends loved it! EVERYONE will be asking for the recipe. Do try it with 1/3 c. chopped pistachios.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Great recipe, almost like my mom's. We use one can each of the ev. and condensed milk, 8oz of cool whip and 2 pieces of bread. Also I've added pistachios and almonds minced to the recipe. Another great idea is adding food coloring, you can stage freeze different colors for a rainbow kulfi effect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Wasn't the best. A little too sweet for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I made a few changes: I grounded up the cardomom seeds cuz I didnt have any powder and added cinnamon. A wonderful recipe - it was a hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Very good, but much better with a few changes. I thought the original recipe came out too sweet, and the cool-whip gave it a strange, gummy texture. The second time I made it, I scalded (almost boiled) the evaporated milk, sweetened condensed milk, and 1 1/2 cups whipping cream with 1 teaspoon cardamom seeds (instead of ground cardamom). Then I blended 3/4 cups regular milk with the bread. I strained the scaled milks into the bread mixture to remove the cardamom seeds, and it in the fridge to cool off. Then I put it in the ice cream maker... it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGGIWEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Excellent! I've never made Kulfi before, but in the past two weeks since I've discovered this recipe, I've made it twice already. I did as suggested and substituted fat free evaporated milk and Cool Whip Lite. I also blended the bread and Cool Whip first to avoid overflowing the blender too much, then added the milks. I also had some trouble sprinkling the cardamom without clumping it, but managed it by finger sprinkling it. I sprinkled the cardamom on before freezing it. Swirling the cardamom into the top layer seemed to give it a bit more flavor. A fantastic recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
It was kind of gritty, that's my only complaint. Tastes kinda like vanilla....but not really lol. I might make it again, but probably not for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WM Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Perfect!!! I substituted the evaporated milk with fat free evaporated milk and the same for the whipped topping. It came out wonderfully. Its a constant demand in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States