Kulfi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2007
VERY easy to make, and delicious. Everyone loved it. The only thing I would change next time is to mix the cardamom into the kulfi, rather than sprinkle it on top. I found the when I sprinkled it, some areas were a little more clumpy with cardamom, and that can be an overwhelming taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This is a very easy way to make "ice cream" that is easily customized. Unfortunately, I didn't like it. I could taste the bread and it didn't appeal to me. My husband really loved this recipe, however. I used low-fat ingredients and he still thought it tasted rich and decadent. I think this would be a hit with children (I was going to try it on my stepdaughter, but my husband finished it up)! I have never tasted real kulfi, so maybe this is a good approximation that deserves a higher rating. I won't eat it again, but I might make it sometime for family members since it's so easy to whip up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Easy prep with deceivingly, decadent results. It was too sweet for my taste. But that can be adjusted next time by including less condensed milk. I used fat free evaporated milk and fat free whipped topping. Still quite rich. I made a batch with mango pulp and a few drops of rosewater. Ohh. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
So good and so easy! I really like ending a good Indian meal with kulfi...never thought I could make it, until I found this recipe. I added approximately 6 TBLS mango pulp/puree (can find it at your local Indian grocers), and made mango kulfi instead. After around 8 hours in the freezer, it was still soft...like a soft serve ice cream. But, after leaving it in the freezer overnight, it was perfect. Can't wait to make it for my Indian in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Very tasty and very authentic! My Indian friends couldn't believe that this was not the traditional Kulfi. It was a hit at the last potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Who would have ever thought.......... this was incredible!! My son had to create an "Indian" dessert for a class project and this was a HIT. I went to school to help serve and all the kids agreed - this was the best dish there! Sooooo very easy and so very good! This made a lot (I filled 5 ice cube trays) and used miniture craft sticks to make it like a popcicle. Takes like a vanilla pudding pop. YUM YUM will definatly make over & over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Excellent!! Easy, quick and fabulous results! Everyone thought it was professional grade Kulfi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I was amazed at how the liquid mess I had created in my blender froze into a very ice cream-like consistency! I doubled the recipe, using two cans of sweetened condensed milk, two cans of evaporated milk, and four slices of soft Wonder bread. I also used six drops of yellow food coloring with two drops of red to create a light orange color. I'm already imagining how this will taste with some fruit or other goodie thrown in (maybe mango or raspberries or even coconut or nuts. Thanks for a great, unique dessert after a spicy Indian meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I found this recipe a few months back & I have made it several times since. I just wanted to say thank you as it is the best recipe I have ever found. This is the quickest and easiest way to make kulfi. The original recipe is much more time consuming and complicated. I have gotten many compliments on my "infamous kulfi" and of course I refuse to share it. Even my older relatives (who know how to make kulfi from scratch) love it. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
this is so easy and tastes SOOO good!! everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States