Kulfi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I have a friend from India she always makes the best dinners ever. She likes to kid me how Canadian I am but when I offered to bring dessert for our next dinner and brought KULFI (stored it in the frozen cylinder of my ice-cream maker and put that in a cooler) She was very surprized how well I had done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Simply Excellent. I added some rose water and lotsof nuts(almond). It was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
OH MY! this was great! I have always loved Kulfi in the Indian restaurants,but every recipe I found for making it was so involved! This is easy as can be & so very close to the original. For an added taste-add pistachios.Scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
This is good simple recipe, I had never made kulfi before and didnt know that you could "cheat"! ;) It turned out great, eventhough i made some alterations, everyone loved it. I didnt have cardamom powder so i let the seeds simmer in half a cup of eveporated milk until it reduced to 1/4 cup and let it cool ( i used 1 1/2 cups eveporated milk instead of 1 1/4) and i used a 1 pint carton of heavy whipping cream and whipped it myself. I also added crushed pistachhios to the mix. this made 16 popsicles for me with a little bit left over which i froze in a small food saver. thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This was very good, but it almost overflowed my blender. I think next time I'll scale it down a bit. Also, I think it would taste better with the cardamom blended in with the ingredients instead of sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Awesome!! It tastes exactly like the kulfi you get in India! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This is the best Kulfi I have had in years! My kids (who are very vocal critics of my wife’s culinary skills) think the world of this recipe. I have improvised on the basic process by adding crushed pistachio to the mixture. Roshan of Delhi would be proud of the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Yummy and easy! I had to use my kitchen aid mixer because it wouldn't all fit in my blender. Also, it made a lot! I filled 2 ice cube trays and 2 8-oz. Cool Whip containers! Even my picky-picky husband likes this! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMASSEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Outstanding! I made this for an Indian get-together and everyone was asking for the recipe. I blended in rosewater and almonds and ran it through an ice cream maker for added creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
This kulfi recipe was very delicious and so easy to make. I made it for a large gathering, and everyone loved it. I added rosewater, cardamon, and a few saffron threads (which I'd soaked in a little bit of hot water so that the color would be released). The finished kulfi had a nice, light golden color. I also took note of a previous reviewer and sprinkled the pistachios on top, so that they wouldn't sink. Excellent! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States