Kulfi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2007
VERY easy to make, and delicious. Everyone loved it. The only thing I would change next time is to mix the cardamom into the kulfi, rather than sprinkle it on top. I found the when I sprinkled it, some areas were a little more clumpy with cardamom, and that can be an overwhelming taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This is a very easy way to make "ice cream" that is easily customized. Unfortunately, I didn't like it. I could taste the bread and it didn't appeal to me. My husband really loved this recipe, however. I used low-fat ingredients and he still thought it tasted rich and decadent. I think this would be a hit with children (I was going to try it on my stepdaughter, but my husband finished it up)! I have never tasted real kulfi, so maybe this is a good approximation that deserves a higher rating. I won't eat it again, but I might make it sometime for family members since it's so easy to whip up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Easy prep with deceivingly, decadent results. It was too sweet for my taste. But that can be adjusted next time by including less condensed milk. I used fat free evaporated milk and fat free whipped topping. Still quite rich. I made a batch with mango pulp and a few drops of rosewater. Ohh. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
So good and so easy! I really like ending a good Indian meal with kulfi...never thought I could make it, until I found this recipe. I added approximately 6 TBLS mango pulp/puree (can find it at your local Indian grocers), and made mango kulfi instead. After around 8 hours in the freezer, it was still soft...like a soft serve ice cream. But, after leaving it in the freezer overnight, it was perfect. Can't wait to make it for my Indian in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Very tasty and very authentic! My Indian friends couldn't believe that this was not the traditional Kulfi. It was a hit at the last potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Who would have ever thought.......... this was incredible!! My son had to create an "Indian" dessert for a class project and this was a HIT. I went to school to help serve and all the kids agreed - this was the best dish there! Sooooo very easy and so very good! This made a lot (I filled 5 ice cube trays) and used miniture craft sticks to make it like a popcicle. Takes like a vanilla pudding pop. YUM YUM will definatly make over & over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Excellent!! Easy, quick and fabulous results! Everyone thought it was professional grade Kulfi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I was amazed at how the liquid mess I had created in my blender froze into a very ice cream-like consistency! I doubled the recipe, using two cans of sweetened condensed milk, two cans of evaporated milk, and four slices of soft Wonder bread. I also used six drops of yellow food coloring with two drops of red to create a light orange color. I'm already imagining how this will taste with some fruit or other goodie thrown in (maybe mango or raspberries or even coconut or nuts. Thanks for a great, unique dessert after a spicy Indian meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I found this recipe a few months back & I have made it several times since. I just wanted to say thank you as it is the best recipe I have ever found. This is the quickest and easiest way to make kulfi. The original recipe is much more time consuming and complicated. I have gotten many compliments on my "infamous kulfi" and of course I refuse to share it. Even my older relatives (who know how to make kulfi from scratch) love it. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
this is so easy and tastes SOOO good!! everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States