Kulfi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Ohhhhh my this is some good stuff! I suggest you store in a plastic container with a snap-on lid as to keep the freezer taste/smell off your kulfi. Of course, if you're like us, you'll eat it up before that can happen anyway - but it makes a lot, so you might think about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is one of the best recipes ever!!!!It turned out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
completely easy to make, super sweet, a spoonful makes a perfect sweet tooth satisfier. a bit messy to remove from ice-cube trays, but stores well. didn't have cardamom, used cinnamon on one tray and nutmeg on the other, plus used wheat bread which gave it a nuttier flavor. excellent and easy - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My husband could not stop raving about this one. It's very similar to how my mother used to make it, but I can't remember if she added cool whip. I took other reviewers' advice and added an 8 oz. container instead of 16 oz; one can of evaporated milk, one can of condensed milk and two slices of bread instead of four. I didn't have pistachio so after I was done blending the ingredients I stirred in some slivered almonds, which tasted great as well. Thanks for an easy and wonderful recipe that reminds me of childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Out if cardamon, used 1/2 cinamon and allspice. Goes great with gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I have never had Kulfi, or even heard of it for that matter, but when I read the recipe it sounded so refreshing I had to try it. I read some of the comments and it did fill the entire blender so I needed to slowly add the whip topping in batches while pulsing, but a couple of extra minutes and some patience was greatly rewarded. This recipe is extremely easy to follow and produces the creamiest and smoothest ice cream I have ever had. I did need to substitute cinnamon for cardamon but I don't think it lost anything. Thanks for the great recipe we now have a new summer staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad2twins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I like trying new recipes, so I gave this one a shot. It was easy to make, but had to hand stir in the most of the whipped topping because it was too much for my blender ( holds 7 cups). I have never used cardamon and was shocked at the price, luckily the store sells it in bulk so I could buy only the amount needed. As for the taste, it was very light, but I had a hard time getting past the grainy texture, I assume is from the bread. Not sure if I will be making this again, but if I do I will make a few changes and play with it a bit. Maybe cocoa or espresso powder in place of the cardamon and omit the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Just okay. I found that the bread gave it a weird texture. To me it tasted like bread dipped in sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
We were having a Indian themed dinner at our house so I decided to make this for dessert. It worked really well to use one can of evaporated milk, 1 can of sweetened condensed milk and 1 (8 oz) container cool whip. I also added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon along with the cardamom. Everyone loved it! It tasted like chai tea in ice cream form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Fast and easy, though I have a feeling this isn't how they make it in India...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States