Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe. I wouldn't change a thing (although we didn't have graham crackers so I used crushed Crispix, which was fantastic). It makes more than the recipe indicates, which is good, because everybody loved it and wanted to take leftovers home. I think the real secret to the recipe is the egg whites, it makes the dish super light and not dense like a lot of kugel is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I've make this kugel often over the years , and it never fails to please the family .I add raisins ,but don't change anything else.A wonderful and delicious recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Very good, light and fluffy. I followed the recipe exactly. The noodles turned out a lil dry, but not to bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
everyone loved it - the only thing I changed was I made extra topping and added apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
The kugel was amazing. Simple, fast, delicious! Made it for Rosh Hashana family dinner, and people were licking their plates. There were no leftovers... I got tons of compliments. Can't believe how easy this was! I doubled the topping ingredients. Do not overmix! It was so light, just divine. My mouth is watering just thinking about it!! Will make again, and again, and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made this for our fathers day dessert and everyone really seemed to like it. I wish it was a bit creamier, but I solved that problem by serving it hot with a BIG scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. My only other suggestion would be to double the graham cracker topping. I felt like it needed more than what the recipe made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This came out great! I never made a Kugel myself and it tasted just like the one my Aunt makes- the way I remember!! I didn't have any graham cracker cookies, so i took some plain cookies and crushed those instead... Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I've only had kugel twice before - both times from Rein's Deli in Connecticut. I was looking for something fun and different for a dessert and I remembered it! This recipe was a great starting point - I'm not sure if this is true to form but I did make a few modifications based on health/memory of the Rein's version: Aside from greasing the pan I completely omitted the butter. Also used low fat sm. curd cottage cheese, sour cream and used neufchatel/lowfat cream cheese. I added 3/4 cup golden raisins + about 1/2 t cinnamon. Also used corn flakes in the crust instead of graham. Also did not bother separating the eggs and pretty much tossed all of the 'wet' ingredients into a bowl, mixed for 45 seconds and then poured it over the noodles & raisins. Then sprinkled topping - came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoFarmsNoFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I looked at this recipe and decided to try it for my daughter's birthday party!!! It was the first time I made kugel from scratch. WOW!!!! It got incredible reviews from all of our guests. I basically doubled the recipe. I did more than double the butter and cream cheese. I didn't use the sour cream or the cottage cheese. I did everything else. I put it in two 13x9 pans and baked as directed. I chilled overnight and cut into squares for serving on the buffet. It was AMAZING!!!! It will now be my go to kugel recipe. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENINCA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
made this with and with out the cottage cheese.It was better without and increase the cream cheese for a smoother kugel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States