Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I found by placing the eggs, sugar, cream cheese, sour cream and cottage cheese in the blender and blending it all together, then pouring it on the cooked noodles and adding pineapple chunks, and topping with the buttter and crumbs, it came out very creamy and easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GLORIA LEE
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Updated 9-30-2011: Re topping modification below: Didn't have cornflakes so used NOT crushed rice crispies instead. Wonderful and the topping looked interesting!!!!! See my photo. Soaked 3/4 cup golden raisins for 20 min in warm 1/2 triple sec and 1/2 apple juice (liquids mixed and heated on 30 seconds in microwave) THEN made the pudding processed sugar free using 1/4 cup splenda and 1/4 cup Agave Syrup to replace white sugar. No one could tell...I left part without topping for my diabetic mom. Also, next time I will use one stick of butter melted in the noodles, not 6 tablespoons-I don't like tiny leftovers. This is NOT a low fat dish-it is a treat...I'd rather have a small piece of something fabulous than a large piece of blah. 2004 review: This is the best Kugel recipe I've made or tasted! I only changed a few things. I used the whole 8 oz package of cream cheese (I didn't want that extra 1/4 sitting around for me to eat.) I added 1/2 cup of raisins to the noodle mixture after I soaked them in VERY HOT water for about 15 minutes. I changed the topping to: 1.5 cups crushed cornflakes mixed with 1 stick (1/2 cup) of melted butter and 1/2 cup packed brown sugar. I sprinkled that on top and then I mixed 1.5 teaspoons of cinnamon with 1/8 cup of white sugar and sprinkled that on last before baking. It was great the next day too!!! Eat cold or warm, but best warmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was fantastic. I actually double the topping to make it go across the whole dish, and one important thing...make sure you cover the dish as it's baking! This is so moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Follow up on topping quantity concerns: Though the recipe calls for a 9 x 13 dish, I've always made it in my glass souffle dish. With less top surface area, less topping is required. And when it's cold, it slices into a beautiful wedge shape too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I have never made a Kugel before, so I tried my hand at it this Chanukah. After going through about a million recipes i decided on this one, and boy am I glad I did. WOW!!! This was AMAZING. Even my mother in law LOVED it !! Thank you from a very grateful Goy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Ann - thanks for the great recipe! I changed it a bit by adding non-fat cream cheese, non-fat sour cream, and non-fat cottage cheese along with non-fat egg noodles, and your recipe held up well! I then added pecans, raisins, and cinnamon. My party loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
First time making this for Easter and I loved it. My mom was skeptical and then she tried it. She loved it also. I think this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
FABULOUS! I took this to a Jewish celebration and no one could get over how this good Catholic girl could make kugel! A real hit! Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SONSHINEX2
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
First time I've ever made Kugel. I saw it in an old cookbook, one that I couldn't find again, so searched it out on allrecipes. Ann's sounded good. I made as she directs, except I did add one cup of golden raisins & addes cinnamom to the topping, which I doubled, as suggested from other reviews. Result: this was delicious, rich & loved by all. I will use again & again for special occasions. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Yummy, everyone loved it! I added a bit of cinnamon to the recipe, but only because I like the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States