Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Was very disappointed, I've had much better kugel. I kept checking the recipe to see if I did something wrong.The texture is like sweetened mashed tofu with noodles in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
Unbelievable! Delicious! A true traditional kugel! One of my dinner attendees asked me to make steamed broccoli because she is anti-starch. She barely touched the broccoli and had FOUR pieces of the kugel. I followed the recipe to a tee and found the texture of the topping a little difficult to work with (it was too wet to "sprinkle"), but my very picky audience didn't seem to mind. This kugel will be a tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This recipe is very good but it takes a lot of preparation. It makes a large dish also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Great taste, very delicious and No one will figure out what the topping is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GLORIA LEE
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Updated 9-30-2011: Re topping modification below: Didn't have cornflakes so used NOT crushed rice crispies instead. Wonderful and the topping looked interesting!!!!! See my photo. Soaked 3/4 cup golden raisins for 20 min in warm 1/2 triple sec and 1/2 apple juice (liquids mixed and heated on 30 seconds in microwave) THEN made the pudding processed sugar free using 1/4 cup splenda and 1/4 cup Agave Syrup to replace white sugar. No one could tell...I left part without topping for my diabetic mom. Also, next time I will use one stick of butter melted in the noodles, not 6 tablespoons-I don't like tiny leftovers. This is NOT a low fat dish-it is a treat...I'd rather have a small piece of something fabulous than a large piece of blah. 2004 review: This is the best Kugel recipe I've made or tasted! I only changed a few things. I used the whole 8 oz package of cream cheese (I didn't want that extra 1/4 sitting around for me to eat.) I added 1/2 cup of raisins to the noodle mixture after I soaked them in VERY HOT water for about 15 minutes. I changed the topping to: 1.5 cups crushed cornflakes mixed with 1 stick (1/2 cup) of melted butter and 1/2 cup packed brown sugar. I sprinkled that on top and then I mixed 1.5 teaspoons of cinnamon with 1/8 cup of white sugar and sprinkled that on last before baking. It was great the next day too!!! Eat cold or warm, but best warmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Yet another Catholic girl trying to cook Jewish cuisine. I made this for our annual Hannukah/Christmas party and my Jewish in-laws were very impressed. I didn't change a thing with this recipe and found it very moist and delicious - still really good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLACIA2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
WOW!!! I made this for my mother (who makes kugel frequently) and she was VERY impressed. She even asked for my recipe. Thanks so much....I will definitely be making it again. It was so easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNROBYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Wow, I've never received such rave reviews from Kugel before. Everyone loved it. Even my skinny friend who eats like a bird stuffed herself with it until she was sick. Will miracles never cease? (It is Haunukkah after all!) It was wonderful and creamy and rich, as promised. I followed the recipe to a tee. This is definitely the best kugel ever. Must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Finally the Kugel recipe I was looking for because I kept losing my mother-in-laws! I too added a bit of cinnamon to it, and used corn flakes with cinnamon and sugar as the topping, for that's how my husband's mother makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States