Krumkake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Another good recipe-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I was so surprised to find this recipe on AR. My grandma was a Norwegian immigrant and taught us so much about the traditional foods, especially Christmas goodies. I have a double electric krumkake iron. It was difficult to find and I couldn't find it here in Colorado. When I went back to MN to visit family, I made a special trip across town just to buy this iron. NO regrets. I make this every year for Christmas & use my grandkids to help with the rolling process. They bake very quickly & it's hard to keep up if you're doing this alone. This is the #1 requested cookie recipe from family! I have a different recipe that's tried & true with the Norwegian folks. I will find it & post it later. FYI, cardamom is very expensive. I freeze mine and use it every year. It is also a great spice to add when making white bread.....try it toasted for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
It was a little thick, but the Krumkake tastes just like my Grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Delicious! I saw a Krumkake iron on Amazon.com for less than $40. It is electric, very easy to use, and makes pretty designs on the krumkakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I actually don't have a review but I would like to know where I can purchase the iron. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I do not have a Krumkake iron but I used my Pizzelle iron. The cardamom is what makes these stand out. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Excellent, Just like Grandma's! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Yes this an easy recipe but I found it coming up short. It was so thick that the Krumkake was more like a pancake. I added more cream to thin it out but perhaps my flour was dry. It lacked anything to keep it from sticking from the iron so I added 1/4 cup butter, a big improvement. Lastly I added Mexican Vanilla (not imitation extract) and this pushed it over the top, A good base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
EXCELLENT AND EASY - SUCCESS the very first time. I made this one a few times and here are some notes. (per my mom and she was right) Needs a touch of salt and a touch of almond extract about 1/4 teas or so each - go easy. When I tripled the recipe, I cut back on the eggs by 1 = 5 eggs = more delicate and "Krumbly" - 4 was too few - tasted great - delicate and "totally krumbly" but a bit too delicate coming off the iron especially if your a novice. Increased flour and sugar a bit ( 2 1/2 c sugar & scant 4 cups sifted flour when tripled) Even tripled I only got 48 kake - breakage and "oops - too dark - we'll have to eat that one" (my son). Remove from iron with a FLAT spreading spatula or a lefse stick if you have one and roll & cool on clean dish towels. They crisp up at they cool and set, don't trap the moisture while cooling. When cool then pack for storage. I've been trying to duplicate my deceased aunts recipe, which was my grandmothers. My mom (85 yrs young) couldn't find her copy. This one comes very close. Hers were more crumbly but with the above changes I believe I've got it. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. Have fun with this one. And make a mountain of them to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammy Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
I have been making these for years and all my friends want a batch when the holidays roll around. I like them plain but my family likes them with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vallygoil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States