Kristi's Tetrazzini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Good base recipe. Definitely take the time to read the "most helpful" reviews before making this dish. Changes I made to the dish (taken from the other reviewers) use only 1/2 of the noodles called for (6 oz), slightly undercook them since they will be cooking longer in the oven, half the broccoli, mushrooms and onions, roast the chicken rather than boil the flavor out of it, add about 1 cup of chicken broth to keep it creamy, double the cheese and mix it within the dish,add 2-3 cloves of minced garlic, sautee all of the veggies (onion, garlic, celery, mushrooms, and broccoli) in a tablespoon of olive oil until just starting to soften, top with something crunchy (I used potato chips). I also covered the casserole for 30 minutes and uncovered for the last 15. It is a great recipe as doctored-probably just okay as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
My roommates LOVED this recipe, although I hoped that it would be saucier. I used frozen chopped broccoli (no mincing for me), and substituted a can of cream of chicken and broccoli soup for one of the chicken ones. I would recommend adding water like other reviews said, and sauteeing the onion first (unless you like it crunchy). Before baking I added seasoned bread crumbs for a bit of crunch. This recipe makes a TON of servings- good for big crowds (or very hungry ones).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This is the first time I've written a review, but I've been a member to site for awhile and I've tried a few recipes. The fact that I decided to write a review should say it all. My husband and I loved this recipe. I used chicken quarters (it was on sale) but I forgot to use the broth as some other reviews had mentioned, but I will next time, as I agree the original recipe doesn't make as much as a sauce as I'd like. I added green peppers, more cheese (my husband loves anything with cheese) and added milk twice through baking. I also didn't boil my noodles that long because I knew I wanted to cook it a little bit longer. I can't say enough, this recipe is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Giltner, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was a huge hit tonight with the few modifications others had suggested. I used 2 cans cream of chicken, 1 can cream of mushroom AND 1/4c milk as the sauce would have been too thick otherwise. I also sauteed the onions, broccoli and celery along with minced garlic and a few shakes of crushed red pepper. Cheese in the sauce and on top... I will be making this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
We LOVED this. I halved the recipe since there's only my husband and I, and there was still plenty to fill a 9x13 pan. I did add about 1/2 cup water because of the other reviews and it was SPLENDID. I used the water that I boiled the chicken in. Marvelous, subtle chicken flavor, and celery and mushrooms made a great addition. (I didn't have paprika so I sprinkled parsley on top instead.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I have made this recipie three times. The first time I did it as written, but it tasted too much like a can of soup to me. So over the next two tries I made a roux instead and tried different cheese combinations. In the end the winner is melting Kraft Italian blend cheese into the roux and then sprinkling shreaded Asiago cheese on top before baking. This is really exceptionally delicious when you make the sauce from scratch instead of using soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJC1637

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was ok. Great to freeze. My boyfriend thought it was a little too bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piglet32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
This recipe was very easy to prepare and but I added a cup of water to make the sauce go further and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This recipe makes a lot! After reading the reviews I split it into 2 meals, and froze one batch. I used a large bag of frozen chopped broccoli, didn't have celery or mushrooms, but it was still good. A good recipe to serve to kids...they all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skiski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This was a good family pleasing recipe! Everyone in the house loved it! I did mix my cheese in and did not top with any cheese as my family does not like it when cheese hardens on a casserole-other than this-I followed the recipe and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaysMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Turkey Tetrazzini II

See how to make classic turkey tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States