Kristi's Tetrazzini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Good base recipe. Definitely take the time to read the "most helpful" reviews before making this dish. Changes I made to the dish (taken from the other reviewers) use only 1/2 of the noodles called for (6 oz), slightly undercook them since they will be cooking longer in the oven, half the broccoli, mushrooms and onions, roast the chicken rather than boil the flavor out of it, add about 1 cup of chicken broth to keep it creamy, double the cheese and mix it within the dish,add 2-3 cloves of minced garlic, sautee all of the veggies (onion, garlic, celery, mushrooms, and broccoli) in a tablespoon of olive oil until just starting to soften, top with something crunchy (I used potato chips). I also covered the casserole for 30 minutes and uncovered for the last 15. It is a great recipe as doctored-probably just okay as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was a huge hit tonight with the few modifications others had suggested. I used 2 cans cream of chicken, 1 can cream of mushroom AND 1/4c milk as the sauce would have been too thick otherwise. I also sauteed the onions, broccoli and celery along with minced garlic and a few shakes of crushed red pepper. Cheese in the sauce and on top... I will be making this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This recipe makes a lot! After reading the reviews I split it into 2 meals, and froze one batch. I used a large bag of frozen chopped broccoli, didn't have celery or mushrooms, but it was still good. A good recipe to serve to kids...they all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skiski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
i found this recipe to be a good one. i also added extra cream of chicken and i didnt use mushrooms because of alergies. the only thing i will do different next time is boil the celery first because i dont like it hard and maybe sprinkle some italian bread crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Pretty good recipe. I will make it again. I halfed it and found it needed just a bit more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathlene07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I made this recipe with some of the suggestions of other reviewers. Used the chicken stock to add to the Cream of Chicken soup. Added garlic and some chopped green pepper with the mushrooms, onion and celery. Softened the veges in a wok prior to adding chicken and broccoli. Used fettucini as I did not have egg noodles. Suspect that it will be better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NB Roy
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I added a bit more spices...I used Italian seasoning and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This was a good family pleasing recipe! Everyone in the house loved it! I did mix my cheese in and did not top with any cheese as my family does not like it when cheese hardens on a casserole-other than this-I followed the recipe and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaysMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This is the first time I've written a review, but I've been a member to site for awhile and I've tried a few recipes. The fact that I decided to write a review should say it all. My husband and I loved this recipe. I used chicken quarters (it was on sale) but I forgot to use the broth as some other reviews had mentioned, but I will next time, as I agree the original recipe doesn't make as much as a sauce as I'd like. I added green peppers, more cheese (my husband loves anything with cheese) and added milk twice through baking. I also didn't boil my noodles that long because I knew I wanted to cook it a little bit longer. I can't say enough, this recipe is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Giltner, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Definitely something you can play around with. I used 1 cream of chicken and two cream of celery (all I had), extra mushrooms, sauteed onions/celery, and probably 1 cup of cheese all together. I also baked about 15 minutes b/f putting cheese on. I think the cream of broccoli soup would be good next time. It takes a little while to put together but makes a lot of food. My b/f commented that he hoped it was good since it looked like we would be eating for a while. I have some for my lunch today. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Turkey Tetrazzini II

See how to make classic turkey tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States