Kristen's Potato Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Dairy free version, just substitute Earth Balance buttery spread for the butter and unsweetened coconut milk for the cream. I also added garlic. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcowalien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Delicious soup - and very few ingredients needed. I always leave out the salt, as it is unnecessary, and use my hand mixer to blend a bit in the pot. Great as frozen leftovers too. This recipe is a favourite in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Nice soup..Included bacon like my Dad used to . Fry up 3 pieces of bacon (cut up into small pieces) - When crispy remove and add 3 leeks - cleaned and thinly sliced into rounds - saute in bacon fat.. (about 2 tbsp.) x 10 minutes Add potatoes cut up into quarters or 1/8ths - followed by 3 cans chicken broth. Simmer x 30 min -then remove and puree 1/2 the soup - the other half a smoosh down a bit but leave pieces for texture. Added 1/2 cup Land o Lakes brand non-fat cream (half and half works too). If too thick (used a bit too many potatoes or they were a big size ) just thin down with a bit of chicken broth or a bit of water - tvf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
comforting, thick and creamy flavorful soup that is a meal all by itself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
It was VERY thick. I must have done something wrong. I had to keep making adjustments to get it thinner. I ended up serving it as a side dish of mashed potatoes and no one knew the difference. I swear, though, that I followed the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I love this recipe! I first made it with some leeks a friend gave me from her garden and it was outstanding. At first I wasn't sure how many leeks to add, as leeks at the store vary in size, so I've measured it out and I use 6 cups of chopped leeks. Then about 5 medium yukon gold potatoes. I also use my immersion blender and just eyeball and puree half the pot. I usually cook this without the cream as I can than freeze it (and I can keep it in the fridge without wondering if it's "gone off") Then I usually just add in a couple tablespoons of cream or milk when I heat it up. A fantastic recipe! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I made it without the cream just for the health factor and it still turned out great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I bought some leeks on whim -- always wanted to try a Potato-Leek soup. My only complaint is that I got less than 1/2 a bowl -- the family loved it. I'd seen other recipes that called for cornstarch, but I found that pureeing a portion, as suggested, thickens it quite nicely. There's no need to be exact in the proportions of ingredients ... I preferred a little more butter, and I didn't have 6 leeks on hand - only 4. Will certainly make it again -- thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is an excellent recipe which got very good reviews from my family. I did substitute Knorr Vegetable Bouillon to make it vegetarian, used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream (probably close to a cup) and no salt (plenty in the bouillon). Very nice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States