Kristen's Potato Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I made it without the cream just for the health factor and it still turned out great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I bought some leeks on whim -- always wanted to try a Potato-Leek soup. My only complaint is that I got less than 1/2 a bowl -- the family loved it. I'd seen other recipes that called for cornstarch, but I found that pureeing a portion, as suggested, thickens it quite nicely. There's no need to be exact in the proportions of ingredients ... I preferred a little more butter, and I didn't have 6 leeks on hand - only 4. Will certainly make it again -- thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is an excellent recipe which got very good reviews from my family. I did substitute Knorr Vegetable Bouillon to make it vegetarian, used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream (probably close to a cup) and no salt (plenty in the bouillon). Very nice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is one of my favorite winter time soups! I only used 3 leeks in stead of the 6 the recipe calls for and used a chopped onion in their place. I also added twice the amount of heavy cream to get a really creamy soup and left the skin on the potatoes, which gave the soup a "rustic" feel. There is nothing wrong with the original recipe and these changes aren't necessary to have a delicious finished product but they meet our tastes better so I thought I'd share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Pretty good; i used half and half (probably about 3/4 cup) instead of heavy cream; added 2 T of Old Bay Seasoning and about 1/3 c of sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Perfect as it stands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is a wonderfully hearty soup that I would've given 5 stars to if it had had a bit more zing. I loved that it used two vegetables that I had in surplus and I'll certainly be making it again but it needs something to spice it up a bit. I'm going to try some garlic and maybe a spice or two. To keep it lighter, I used half & half as suggested by another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Used veggie stock instead -delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vivalalk
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Yum!! I tried potato leek soup for the first time a week ago at our local natural grocery store and have been craving it ever since. This turned out just like it, maybe even better! I'm happy to have found this recipe and can't wait to share with family and friends during the upcoming holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vivalalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Great soup! I only had 3 leeks, so I made a smaller batch. Also used a bit more butter than called for and added some chopped carrots. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kleinfelter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States