Kristen's Potato Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by vivalalk
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Yum!! I tried potato leek soup for the first time a week ago at our local natural grocery store and have been craving it ever since. This turned out just like it, maybe even better! I'm happy to have found this recipe and can't wait to share with family and friends during the upcoming holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vivalalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Awesome! I found that two of the big (1 1/2 in. leeks) were plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
its the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Had a bunch of leeks hanging around and wasn't sure what to make with them until I stumbled upon this recipe. The soup was amazing! Used more leeks than called for since I wanted to use them up and added about a TBLS of red wine vinegar after it was done cooking to amp up the cream in the soup. Will definitely be in our winter menu coming up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was very good! I made a few substitutions. I added half an onion to the leeks since I had some extra. I also used 1 percent milk and added a little roux to thicken, since I didn't have heavy cream and like to use what's on hand. When I added the milk I threw in a cup of cooked, chopped broccoli. I'm in college and don't own a blender or mixer, so I minced the leek and onion really small and used a potato masher. It came out a little chunky but I like it that way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time I made it exactly as written and it was excellent. The second time I substituted the butter with olive oil and half and half for the heavy cream and it was just as good with these minor changes. This time I am adding the leftover ham I have in the freezer. Serving it with a loaf of pumpkin bread for a wonderful fall dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Great soup! I only had 3 leeks, so I made a smaller batch. Also used a bit more butter than called for and added some chopped carrots. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kleinfelter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Used veggie stock instead -delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States