Kristen's Awesome Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
a bit crumbly afterwards in the cookie jar... good otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
***First: 12-15 minutes is WAY OFF. ***Second: Even with chilled dough, we're talking 2-5 minutes in the oven at this temperature, unless you want charred discs. ***Third: While it's true this recipe isn't cake-like (which is why I gave it a go,) it doesn't strike the perfect balance of crisp and chew either with the instructions as they are. Taken as-is this recipe results in cookies that are pretty greasy, that get "lacey" (*very* spread out) in the oven. A non-cakey crisp/chew cookie using this recipe is best acheived using the following points: If you're going to use this recipe, cook on baking paper or a silicone mat (don't grease a cookie sheet... who does that anymore anyways?) Also: cook closer to 3 minutes at about 340F/170C for temp. You'll get a better shape to your cookies if you work with chilled dough following these guidelines. Instead of all-shortening, half butter + half shortening works better for both flavour and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I cut the cinnamon in 1/2 and will eliminate it entirely next time. Added 2 generous handfuls of raisins but I do like them and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
awesome cookie came out perfect. family loved them...gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This made a great simple oatmeal cookie that could be jazzed up however the mood strikes. The only changes I made was to omit the white sugar and use 1 1/4 cups brown sugar and I used butter instead of shortening. I added about 3/4 cup craisins and an equal amount of walnuts. Made about 3 dozen yummy cookies. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is real close to the original oatmeal cookie recipe that use to be on the back of the box years ago, without the cinnamon. Soooo GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is the original Quaker Oats cookie recipe. I've used it for years, and it makes the best oatmeal cookie I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is an excellent oatmeal cookie. I have been using this same recipe for years. The only difference is that I use butter instead of shortening. Just my preference. I also add 1 cup of raisins. I had tried many oatmeal cookie recipes but this is the BEST as far as I am concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I just love oatmeal cookies. These are fabulous and very moist. I followed the recipe but didn't have enough vanilla so I used a teeny bit of almond extract instead. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SHEREEB
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
simple to make my family loved them....thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEREEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States