Kristen's Awesome Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Okay, so I had an interesting experience with these cookies but when it was all said and done I still give them 5 stars. I used butter like a lot of other reviewers. I avoid using shortening whenever possible. I also added chocolate chips but I kept everything else the same. I even put in the cinnamon. With the first dozen I had the same problem that some other reviewers had. I left them in WAY longer than 15 minutes because they were nowhere near done... They just kept spreading out until they were lacy, flat and the bottoms were turning dark but the tips were uncooked. Then when I finally took them out they wouldn't come off of the pan so I ended up with a bowl full of crumbly cookie pieces. Delicious crumbly cookie pieces, I might add! For the other 18 cookies I turned the heat up to 375 and only put in one pan of 6 cookies in at a time instead of two pans. After 15 minutes they were still holding their shape pretty well and baking nicely so I flattened them with a spatula and baked them for another 2 minutes (I like my cookies crunchy, not soft). They came out perfectly and were not hard to get off of the pan. I have no idea what exactly went wrong with the first batch but I'm pretty sure it was due to either my oven or user error. It doesn't matter because they tasted delicious and we ate them all anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Perfect oatmeal cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
We added chocolate chips and vanilla. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
the flavor of this cookie was decent. I did cut back on the amount of sugar by 1/2 cup. I thought the amount of sugar to the amount of flour seemed too much. There was more sugar than flour. Its the texture that's off. Too many oats, I think, the flavor of the oats was not the issue, just the amount of oats that effected the texture. Was a good cookie, though. I did not have any problems with the cookie turning out "flat" as other reviewers described. Would like to try another recipe to compare this to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is awesome! Although I used butter in place of shortening! Delicious. Crunchy on the outsids. Soft in the middle.mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This recipe is prefect as written. The cookies really spread out when baking, so be sure to leave plenty of room between them on your first batch until you know what to expect. Thanks for a great new addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Perfect oatmeal cookies - slightly crispy, slightly chewy! Followed recipe exactly except I used just 1 tsp cinnamon, but that is personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made these today and read some of the reviews first. I prefer to use butter but find that sometimes it makes cookies flat. These turned out flat. I did like the flavour, both of oatmeal and Cinnamon. I will try again and review again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Very good, and not too sweet! Really good for snacks as well as dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Rozmus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Cookies are good...very sweet..crispy on edges and chewy in middle..I like that it has alot of oatmeal....because, um, its an oatmeal cookie!! I think a tablespoon of cinnamon is alot....i reread the recipe at least 3 times to make sure i had the correct measurement for the cinnamon..it even made the batter brown....next time I will reduce the cinnamon by at least half, if not more....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States