Kris' Lentil Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Student Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Just made for the first time & it's amazing! Was looking for a hearty, protein-heavy soup to keep me full longer. Made a couple changes based on reviews - added 3/4 tsp thyme, doubled celery, & increased carrots (used 1 lb baby carrots). Made a big pot, plan to freeze for later this winter. Wouldn't change a thing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
It was the first time I ever ate lentils. Pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Made this soup last night because I didn't have much in the pantry and needed a dinner idea. I used bacon instead of kielbasa (only because I didn't have kielbasa) and I didn't have celery so that was omitted as well. I added some thyme and paprika (dashes of both) and a tablespoon of vinegar as per other's suggestions. I halved the recipe (I only had 1/2 pound of lentils on hand). My husband declared this is the best lentil soup I've made for him, which says a lot as I've used several different recipes - including a "copycat" recipe for Carraba's lentil soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Didn't change a thing with this recipe, and there was plenty of flavor. The key is to pick the right variety of ingredients. I used fresh carrots, fresh celery with the leaves as specified, Hillshire Farms kielbasa sausage, Swanson chicken broth, Christopher Ranch roasted garlic (chopped/minced), and red lentils from Whole Foods. Didn't need to add salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em!

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Very good meal, I made a number of changes to mine. First, I used about 7 cloves of garlic, why not? I did cut down on the amount of sausage it called for. At the end of cooking I hit it with an emerging blender a few times, it's my preferred way to eat lentils. And last, I mixed in some sesame seeds. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
nice big batch and soup froze, thawed and reheated well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
So simple and delicious! Like others before me have stated, do not skim on the simmer time. It's well worth the wait! I used Swanson's chicken broth one time and homemade broth another time and both efforts were just as yummy! This soup is perfect for those cold winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
good! I used water and chicken bouillon instead of chicken broth and i added an extra bay leaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
was so good made a double batch, added a splash of apple cider vinegar and omitted the tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Used andouille because I could not find kielbasa, and a mushroom soup base rather than stock, and this turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States