Kris' Lentil Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Very good meal, I made a number of changes to mine. First, I used about 7 cloves of garlic, why not? I did cut down on the amount of sausage it called for. At the end of cooking I hit it with an emerging blender a few times, it's my preferred way to eat lentils. And last, I mixed in some sesame seeds. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
nice big batch and soup froze, thawed and reheated well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
So simple and delicious! Like others before me have stated, do not skim on the simmer time. It's well worth the wait! I used Swanson's chicken broth one time and homemade broth another time and both efforts were just as yummy! This soup is perfect for those cold winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
good! I used water and chicken bouillon instead of chicken broth and i added an extra bay leaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
was so good made a double batch, added a splash of apple cider vinegar and omitted the tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Used andouille because I could not find kielbasa, and a mushroom soup base rather than stock, and this turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Whoa, this makes a ton of soup which is great for stocking up the freezer! I thought it was good but needed a little more flavor. I did use beef broth instead of chicken and added some thyme. Also, my soup was done in 60 minutes, simmering for 2 hours would have turned it to mush. Thanks for sharing your recipe, I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent! I appreciate the tip on leaving the celery leaves on--I did that, and I think it does help add more flavor. I simmered mine for about 3 hours, and it didn't get mushy or anything. I am a huge salt fan, and I really didn't need to add much to my bowl because I really found it quite flavorful. I made no changes to the original recipe except for adding extra carrots and celery. I would even add more next time, but I love veggies. I studied abroad in Spain while in college, and my host mother made a dish very similar to this. She used Spanish chorizo instead of Kielbasa, but the dish was very similar. I've enjoyed cooking with lentils ever since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very good soup made it on a cold fall day and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Been a fan of lentil soup for a long time and this one is clearly one of the best. Grated the carrots and used more garlic and no celery and only 6 cups of water with two cubes of Knorr chicken bouillon as my changes (of necessity). Probably did not have quite a full pound of kielbasa. Sooo tasty - even hubby, the non-lentil fan, liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States