Kris' Lentil Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
So good! I realized I only had half of the lentils I needed after I started cooking and subbed uncooked white rice for the other half. I did add a little seasoned salt, but other than that I left it alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by LMY612
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Delicious!!! I used meatless kielbasa sausage and vegetable broth and it turned out great as a vegetarian recipe!! The whole family loved it. Definitely saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
DELICIOUS! And so addictive. It is helpful to add the salt and pepper at the end. I used kielbasa sausage and it adds a bit of flavor and saltiness as it cooks. Mine version ended up being a bit salty but absolutely delightful and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Student Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Just made for the first time & it's amazing! Was looking for a hearty, protein-heavy soup to keep me full longer. Made a couple changes based on reviews - added 3/4 tsp thyme, doubled celery, & increased carrots (used 1 lb baby carrots). Made a big pot, plan to freeze for later this winter. Wouldn't change a thing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
It was the first time I ever ate lentils. Pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Made this soup last night because I didn't have much in the pantry and needed a dinner idea. I used bacon instead of kielbasa (only because I didn't have kielbasa) and I didn't have celery so that was omitted as well. I added some thyme and paprika (dashes of both) and a tablespoon of vinegar as per other's suggestions. I halved the recipe (I only had 1/2 pound of lentils on hand). My husband declared this is the best lentil soup I've made for him, which says a lot as I've used several different recipes - including a "copycat" recipe for Carraba's lentil soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Didn't change a thing with this recipe, and there was plenty of flavor. The key is to pick the right variety of ingredients. I used fresh carrots, fresh celery with the leaves as specified, Hillshire Farms kielbasa sausage, Swanson chicken broth, Christopher Ranch roasted garlic (chopped/minced), and red lentils from Whole Foods. Didn't need to add salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em!

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Very good meal, I made a number of changes to mine. First, I used about 7 cloves of garlic, why not? I did cut down on the amount of sausage it called for. At the end of cooking I hit it with an emerging blender a few times, it's my preferred way to eat lentils. And last, I mixed in some sesame seeds. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
nice big batch and soup froze, thawed and reheated well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
So simple and delicious! Like others before me have stated, do not skim on the simmer time. It's well worth the wait! I used Swanson's chicken broth one time and homemade broth another time and both efforts were just as yummy! This soup is perfect for those cold winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States