Kris' Lentil Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
We LOVED this! I used homemade low sodium chicken broth & petite diced tomatoes. Delish with a Whole Wheat Cornbread, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I love this recipe. Even my husband who is not a soup lover thought it was really good. Only change I made was I put in a 28oz can of diced tomato's instead of the 14 oz can of crushed. I didn't have any in the house so I used what I had and it made the soup even chunkier. Will be making this a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I just wanted to add a note to be more specific about the ingredients. I'm one of those cooks that seldom follows a recipe exactly and I like to leave room for experimentation. However, for those of you saying that it's not flavorful enough, I might add a few suggestions: I use hillshire farms brand polska kielbasa made with pork, turkey, and beef. (I don't think the "all beef" is as flavorful.) Also, be sure to use the leaves of the celery...they add a powerful punch of flavor. Also, don't skimp on the bay leaves or the simmering time. The lentils don't take that long to cook, but you want to extract the flavor out of the bay leaves, and that's what takes the time. Also, this is ALWAYS better the next day. I leave the bay leaves in (probably the reason) and nobody has any trouble eating the leftovers. (Or, you can just make it a day ahead and then reheat it if you like.) Anyway, enjoy and use the ingredients that you like. -Kris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
We loved this soup! I didn't know I even liked lentil beans until now. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scatcat ~ Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Delicious! Used fresh smoked kielbasa from our Polish deli. My family loved this hearty and flavorful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I made this recipe without bay leaves (didn't have any) and with beef kielbasa (we're not pork eaters). I'm not a huge fan of celery, so I left that out as well, even though I think it would have worked well in this. This recipe is fantastic! Next time I'm going to use low-sodium broth because it was a bit salty for my taste, but that was not too big of a problem, clearly, since I had it for dinner and then lunch the next day! GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I am not crazy about kielbasa so I left it out and the soup turned out wonderful!! I froze half of it in portion sizes and it is great heated up with some parmesan cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
We loved this. Used up 3 left over BBQ'd Prarie Fire sausages and replaced the chicken broth with beef broth because that is what I had on hand. Thanks for the great recipe Kris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I was searching for a recipe that had lentils and crushed tomatoes (since we had a ton of both for some reason) and came across this one. So happy I did. Soooooo super delicious and so super easy to make. My SO kept saying how great it was too... he will pretty much eat whatever I put infront of him, but he doesn't always rave. He raved this time. Oh, and our 16 mo old who turns her face to everything but mini ravioli these days was inhaling it. Yipee! Luckily this recipe makes a lot, so we'll be freezing some for the emergency no dinner nights. Thanks Kris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
What a great recipe! We had all of the ingredients and it turned out to be such a wonderful, quick and hearty meal on a cold rainy day!! I used tomatos with diced garlic and onion, as that is what we had. Thank you Kris for such a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States