Kris' Lentil Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kris
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I just wanted to add a note to be more specific about the ingredients. I'm one of those cooks that seldom follows a recipe exactly and I like to leave room for experimentation. However, for those of you saying that it's not flavorful enough, I might add a few suggestions: I use hillshire farms brand polska kielbasa made with pork, turkey, and beef. (I don't think the "all beef" is as flavorful.) Also, be sure to use the leaves of the celery...they add a powerful punch of flavor. Also, don't skimp on the bay leaves or the simmering time. The lentils don't take that long to cook, but you want to extract the flavor out of the bay leaves, and that's what takes the time. Also, this is ALWAYS better the next day. I leave the bay leaves in (probably the reason) and nobody has any trouble eating the leftovers. (Or, you can just make it a day ahead and then reheat it if you like.) Anyway, enjoy and use the ingredients that you like. -Kris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Three out of four in my family thought that this recipe was outstanding. The one who wasn't a big fan is only four, so we're still waiting for her taste to mature. Did I make it exactly according to the directions? Well no, of course not. Here's how it went. I used 6 c water (my hubby likes soup to be thick). Then, added two Knorr chicken boullion cubes. I used 1 1/2 c Le Puy lentils. It didn't need salt or pepper. Also, I added a dash or two of ground thyme. That's it - yum. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This recipe was full of flavor, hearty, and just right for a cold wintry night! Thanks for sharing, Kris. For those who think there's not enough flavor, try using a smokier polska kielbasa -- I happened to have gotten ahold of some wedding kielbasy from www.andysdeli.com and it released a LOT of flavor into the soup. I rarely give 5 stars to any recipe, but this one is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Made this last week and thought it was great. I used Hillshire Farms Smoked Sausage and browned it, sliced, with the vegetables, thereby, omitting the oil. Also used homemade vegetable stock in place of chicken broth. Next time I'll add a box of chopped spinach! Served this over brown rice. Really delicious. Thank you, Kris : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
We loved this soup! I didn't know I even liked lentil beans until now. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scatcat ~ Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very tasty the first day, even better the next (after the bay leaves have infused the soup). Sauteed carrots, celery, onion and garlic first added 1 t. thyme, then sauteed sausage for 3 minutes. Added remaining ingredients (to include a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes) and simmered for 2 hours. It was so tasty that it did not even need seasoning with salt and pepper! I think next time I will add some chopped cabbage or chopped greens (spinach or kale) toward the end. Can add 1 T vinegar (per earlier suggestion), but it tastes GREAT as is. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe is good but it really needs something to give it some flavor. I got the smoky flavor of the kielbasa with the dry smell of the lentils but not much else. Putting a lot of paprika in helped a bit but next time more radical herbs are needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Really tasty. I added some jalapeno and bell pepper as well as some minced garlic. we enjoyed this with some Texas Toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
My first lentil dish and five days later I bought another two cups to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
We all really enjoyed this! I soaked beans in water all day and then boiled per directions. Cooked in approx 45 mins that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Elba, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States