Kris' Lentil Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Three out of four in my family thought that this recipe was outstanding. The one who wasn't a big fan is only four, so we're still waiting for her taste to mature. Did I make it exactly according to the directions? Well no, of course not. Here's how it went. I used 6 c water (my hubby likes soup to be thick). Then, added two Knorr chicken boullion cubes. I used 1 1/2 c Le Puy lentils. It didn't need salt or pepper. Also, I added a dash or two of ground thyme. That's it - yum. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Made this last week and thought it was great. I used Hillshire Farms Smoked Sausage and browned it, sliced, with the vegetables, thereby, omitting the oil. Also used homemade vegetable stock in place of chicken broth. Next time I'll add a box of chopped spinach! Served this over brown rice. Really delicious. Thank you, Kris : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This recipe was wonderful. I'm not a big lentil or bean fan and I even enjoyed it. Only things I changed were to use more tomato than called for and I added 2T of apple cider vinegar before serving. It was wonderful. I don't think it needs the full two hours to cook, I think one hour would be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe is good but it really needs something to give it some flavor. I got the smoky flavor of the kielbasa with the dry smell of the lentils but not much else. Putting a lot of paprika in helped a bit but next time more radical herbs are needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Wonderful, has great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This recipe was full of flavor, hearty, and just right for a cold wintry night! Thanks for sharing, Kris. For those who think there's not enough flavor, try using a smokier polska kielbasa -- I happened to have gotten ahold of some wedding kielbasy from www.andysdeli.com and it released a LOT of flavor into the soup. I rarely give 5 stars to any recipe, but this one is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Excellent...my husbands favorite of all recipes! I have given out this recipe a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I made this Friday night because I had a friend coming over on Saturday after we checked out some craft fairs to knit. The only thing I changed was I used turkey sausage, use one quart of chicken stock and broth. It was better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Delicious! Used fresh smoked kielbasa from our Polish deli. My family loved this hearty and flavorful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I love this recipe. Even my husband who is not a soup lover thought it was really good. Only change I made was I put in a 28oz can of diced tomato's instead of the 14 oz can of crushed. I didn't have any in the house so I used what I had and it made the soup even chunkier. Will be making this a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States