Kris' Lentil Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Fantastic soup! I did make a few variations. I used smoked kabanossi instead of kielbasa. I also substituted the canned tomatoes with tomato paste. Lastly I left out the bay leaves and instead I added a dash of worcestershire sauce and Italian herb seasonings. Fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Hingham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
My husband loves this recipe--says it's really tasty without being too spicy hot. I've made it many times with different sausages and it always tastes great. Even with homemade (unsalted) chicken stock, I haven't had a need to add additional salt to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This came out great! Instead of canned tomatoes I used three fresh tomatoes largely chopped and I also added some fresh chopped cilantro, a large cubed red potato with the skin on, thyme, cumin and about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. 10 minutes before it was done I added a few cups of fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
The only changes I made to this recipe is to use smoked sausage instead of kielbasa, only because it's what we have/like. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Really tasty. I added some jalapeno and bell pepper as well as some minced garlic. we enjoyed this with some Texas Toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Made this just as written, except I added some spinach that I had hanging around, and used a can of petite diced tomatoes because that's what was in the panty. Perfect! Husband loved it too. Makes a ton! We can have the leftovers all week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krglvt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This recipe overall was good but I replaced veg oil for a healthier olive oil and added some wine for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very tasty the first day, even better the next (after the bay leaves have infused the soup). Sauteed carrots, celery, onion and garlic first added 1 t. thyme, then sauteed sausage for 3 minutes. Added remaining ingredients (to include a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes) and simmered for 2 hours. It was so tasty that it did not even need seasoning with salt and pepper! I think next time I will add some chopped cabbage or chopped greens (spinach or kale) toward the end. Can add 1 T vinegar (per earlier suggestion), but it tastes GREAT as is. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was perfect exactly as written. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. Lots of flavor and nice, warm, comfort food for a fall evening. Served it with some warm baguette and everyone was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This turned out really delicious. I ended up using chicken sausage that had a little spice to it so the beans kind of soaked up that flavor. I also made this in the crock pot instead of on the stove top. I just put it on around 6 pm and let it cook on low overnight and it turned out perfect! The seasonings had plenty of time to soak in to the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States