Kris' Lentil Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Made this just as written, except I added some spinach that I had hanging around, and used a can of petite diced tomatoes because that's what was in the panty. Perfect! Husband loved it too. Makes a ton! We can have the leftovers all week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krglvt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This recipe overall was good but I replaced veg oil for a healthier olive oil and added some wine for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very tasty the first day, even better the next (after the bay leaves have infused the soup). Sauteed carrots, celery, onion and garlic first added 1 t. thyme, then sauteed sausage for 3 minutes. Added remaining ingredients (to include a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes) and simmered for 2 hours. It was so tasty that it did not even need seasoning with salt and pepper! I think next time I will add some chopped cabbage or chopped greens (spinach or kale) toward the end. Can add 1 T vinegar (per earlier suggestion), but it tastes GREAT as is. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was perfect exactly as written. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. Lots of flavor and nice, warm, comfort food for a fall evening. Served it with some warm baguette and everyone was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This turned out really delicious. I ended up using chicken sausage that had a little spice to it so the beans kind of soaked up that flavor. I also made this in the crock pot instead of on the stove top. I just put it on around 6 pm and let it cook on low overnight and it turned out perfect! The seasonings had plenty of time to soak in to the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This soup was absolutely delicious!! I added about 5 cloves of Garlic since I can't ever get enough of it... it was toooo die for!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I prepared this by just dumping all ingredients as stated in the crockpot and letting it cook on low for about 8 hours. The lentils would not soften, so I turned it to high for about 4 more hours and finally gave up trying to get the lentils completely soft. The soup has good flavor, but my lentils are still al dente. I'll try this again w/o the tomatoes or waiting to add them until the very end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ncrob71
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Pretty easy recipe. I made a few changes for myself. I used Tuttorosso crushed tomotoes and smoked sausage instead of kielbasa. Added additional carrots and celery. Cooked for about 1.5 hours before it was done. Made a HUGE amount of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was very good. I used a can of Ro-tel in place of the crushed tomatoes. We added a little hot sauce at the table, but that's no reflection on the recipe. Nice and hearty, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I've made this twice -- the first time it came out very thick, but delicious. My US to metric conversion may have been off, so that could have been my fault. The second time I added extra tomato juice and it was more soup-like, and still delicious. I used sliced pork sausage instead of kielbasa because I couldn't find kielbasa in either of the tiny grocery stores near where I currently live in London. My flatmates demand it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States