Kris' Lentil Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Omg! Was this ever good!!! I used Hillshire Farm smoked sausage....less broth, a large box 48 oz, and added some garlic powder. With less broth, it was very thick and hearty! Served with crusty hot rolls and salad, this will go right into the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Fantastic soup! I did make a few variations. I used smoked kabanossi instead of kielbasa. I also substituted the canned tomatoes with tomato paste. Lastly I left out the bay leaves and instead I added a dash of worcestershire sauce and Italian herb seasonings. Fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Hingham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
My husband loves this recipe--says it's really tasty without being too spicy hot. I've made it many times with different sausages and it always tastes great. Even with homemade (unsalted) chicken stock, I haven't had a need to add additional salt to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This came out great! Instead of canned tomatoes I used three fresh tomatoes largely chopped and I also added some fresh chopped cilantro, a large cubed red potato with the skin on, thyme, cumin and about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. 10 minutes before it was done I added a few cups of fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
The only changes I made to this recipe is to use smoked sausage instead of kielbasa, only because it's what we have/like. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Really tasty. I added some jalapeno and bell pepper as well as some minced garlic. we enjoyed this with some Texas Toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Made this just as written, except I added some spinach that I had hanging around, and used a can of petite diced tomatoes because that's what was in the panty. Perfect! Husband loved it too. Makes a ton! We can have the leftovers all week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krglvt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This recipe overall was good but I replaced veg oil for a healthier olive oil and added some wine for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very tasty the first day, even better the next (after the bay leaves have infused the soup). Sauteed carrots, celery, onion and garlic first added 1 t. thyme, then sauteed sausage for 3 minutes. Added remaining ingredients (to include a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes) and simmered for 2 hours. It was so tasty that it did not even need seasoning with salt and pepper! I think next time I will add some chopped cabbage or chopped greens (spinach or kale) toward the end. Can add 1 T vinegar (per earlier suggestion), but it tastes GREAT as is. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was perfect exactly as written. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. Lots of flavor and nice, warm, comfort food for a fall evening. Served it with some warm baguette and everyone was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States