Kris' Amazing Shredded Mexican Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
this was a great recipe! We made tacos, and had enough leftovers to make nachos the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This was very good and had a lot of flavor. I cut the roast down to 2 pounds but kept everything else the same except the chipotle peppers (I used two peppers). It was one the verge of being too spicy for my family, but was pretty close to being perfect. I cooked it on low for ten hours in lieu of cooking it on high for eight hours, as the recipe indicated. The roast literally fell apart and was cooked perfectly. We served on baked corn tortillas with lettuce, monterray jack cheese, tomatoes, sour cream and guacamole. It made for a wonderful meal! Thanks for sharing your recipe, happygirl820!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Truly loved this recipe, had to share it with all my friends. It was a bit spicy, but that just made it even more delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
We live in Southern California and my husband is from Arizona. Mexican food is practically a religion for him. I made this tonight for smothered burritos. He was in food heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Update: I bumped my rating from 4 to 5 stars! We made these again over the weekend and I used the entire can of peppers in Adobe sauce (still removing the whole peppers before shredding the beef) it was not too spicy for us and the flavor was incredible! My kids have already requested this again! First Review: I found the recipe last night and made them tonight!! Yummy! I used a 3 lb roast and only 3 peppers, I did pour a little of the Adobe sauce in before starting the crock pot. I also used 2 fresh cloves of garlic, minced, instead of the powdered and beef stock in place of water and the bullion cube. The whole family enjoyed them. We served them with sour cream, freshly grated cheese, diced tomatoes and slices of avocado. THANKS for a great recipe. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This was super-fantastic but beware if you are not a spicy lover...I followed another viewers advice and backed off on the chipotle peppers in the sauce-I only added 2 peppers!! And it was just zippy enough...Delicious flavor...Only thing I added was some smoked paprika....Will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Thanks for sharing very delicious I used the shredded meat to make rolled tacos for a get together:)there where no taqitos left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
You really do have to watch the amount of chipotle peppers because the taste of the sauce from the canned chipotle peppers can overwhelm everything else. I cut the recipe in half and used only 1/4 of the can of peppers. I may just have not quite liked the brand of peppers I used. Good one to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Spicy but quite delicious. Certainly too spicy for serving to the general public, about 25% of my group (50ish people) wouldn't eat it due to the fire. That's the difference between New Mexico/Arizona and California I suppose.... Spices are a complement - but the beef is the real star of the dish. In this recipe, salt and hot spice is fairly overpowering which is not a characteristic of Sonoran - style cooking. I'll keep as is for family and halve the spicy for larger groups in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmi Belle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I substituted a 1.5 lb skirt steak, and used half of all the listed spices. I did not have chipotle peppers so I put in about 1/2 cup of medium store salsa. I skipped the beef bullion. It only had to cook about 6 hours due to the smaller cut of meat. shredded it in the crock pot - kids loved it. we put some I with cheese quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States