Kris' Amazing Shredded Mexican Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
As a "gringo" who loves authentic Mexican food, this was absolutely wonderful! I varied the recipe only a bit, using a bone-in chuck roast that weighed about 2 1/2 pounds. I reduced the quantities of most of the other ingredients about one third (not exactly, just eyed it). I had chipotles in adobo in freezer (great way to store them if you don't use a whole can) and I threw in 4-5 fat ones. I also used home made beef stock instead of water and beef bouillon. Cooked for about 7 hours then shredded and returned to the juices as stated. Served on flour tortillas with some jalapeno poppers (from this site) and some beans. A fiesta in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Muy bueno! This is a delicious meat filling for Mexican dishes...tacos, enchiladas, burritos....It was just the right amount of spicy for me, but I like the heat. Faint of heart should follow the author's suggestion to cut down some of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amaniaci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Made this for my boyfriend and he loved it! This recipe is flavor-packed! We even added some more green chilies. Also added a tsp or so of salt. Served as fajitas with fresh salsa, sliced avocados and cheese. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is probably the absolute best recipe I've ever tried from this site. Tripled for a 50th birthday fiesta - I didn't change any of the ingredients, just tripled them - and it was a hit, even after warning about the heat! Served with tortillas, refried beans, lime cilantro rice and other toppings . . . everyone at the party loved it. Thanks for posting this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crewe, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was very flavorful and the meat was so tender and the house smelled terrific. I did add a little bit of salt to the sauce (about 2 tsp.). I made shredded beef enchiladas and the family really liked them. To me, it seemed very authentic. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
mmm Spicy!! loved it! had some for breakfast this morning. i didn't have the green chilis but had a can of jalapenos, so used them instead. lots of flavor and heat in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I don't have much basis for comparison, but this was a pretty good recipe. I halved the recipe (spices included) and it has just the right amount of heat for me. The only modifications I made to the recipe were to add a sliced green pepper while cooking because I don't like my meat to be too dense and adding the juice of 1/4 lemon at the end. We ate ours on flat bread with guacamole, cheese and salsa and a side of spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This recipe is a new family favorite! My husband absolutely LOVES it and requested that I make it for his family when we made a trip home to Utah. It was a HUGE hit. Everyone thought our shredded beef tacos tasted better than anything they've had from any mexican restaurant! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieRitter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Great flavor to this recipe. I used 4 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and froze the rest of the can 3 peppers/bag for future use in this recipe. 4 peppers were a bit spicy for our taste. I took them out before I shredded the beef and stained the broth and put some of the broth back in with the shredded beef with a little water to lessen the spice. Served with lime/cilantro brown rice, black beans, corn, and sauteed onions on wheat tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
We really liked this recipe. It has great flavor and it was easy to prepare. BEWARE it is very spicy, so if you like a more mild flavor omit the chipotle peppers and reduce the ground cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States