Kris' Amazing Shredded Mexican Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was extremely hot which we love but that was the only flavor I tasted. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This turned out really nice. I used 2.8 lb rump roast and 3/4 or so of the can of adobos. I've never made this type of beef before. At first I thought it may be too spicy, but turned out just right for us (from cajun country though). Consider adding less liquid or titrate with desired amount after shredding it separately. We considered also adding bbq sauce to the leftovers next time for some variation. It keeps for days of course. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This was SO good! Everyone in my family ate it and enjoyed it, that's saying a lot! This recipe will be a staple in my house. Just a side note, my roast was done in 6 hours, so tender, it just fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this before and absolutely loved it.... I didn't have green chillies but I found some diced jalapeños in the pantry which worked well.... I varied the ingredients a bit (not to off course) as far as spices the end result was still great... Many claimed it tasted like "Barbacoa" which was a lovely surprise.... Making it for the second time tonight hoping the results tomorrow morning are great.... I'll keep you posted...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bleu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Made this last week for my family. Heeded the warning about the heat so only added 4 medium chipotles. It was too hot so I simmered only the meat with added water in a frying pan which toned it down a bit. Served in flour tortillas with refried beans, cheese, cilantro, tomatoes, and sour cream with a squeeze or fresh lime juice. It still had what we call "an afterburn." I made it again this week for my sister's family with no cayenne and 4 medium chipotles. That was perfect and everyone loved it! I did remove the chipotles from the crock but put the shedded meat back into the juices/marinade. Served the same as above. Froze the rest for another time. Will try this in enchiladas in the future. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Way too spicy. I didn't even add the whole thing of chipotle peppers or the diced chilis. Should be renamed beef in fire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I have a Cinco de Mayo party every year and as a Southern Californian, I know Mexican food! This is pretty authentic! Every last bite was gone from my taco bar. Great recipe! Mine is close, it was just always missing something....the green chiles were it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This recipe is delicious, but SCREAMING hot. I like hot food and this was almost too hot. I think it would be perfect to half the cayenne and chili powder. I'd also add a squeeze of lime for some tang. The flavors are so good and the meat fell apart it was so tender. I put the meat in a tortilla with tomatoes, cheddar cheese and sour cream. A definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
My ultra picky 16yo son LOVED this! I didn't have the chipotle peppers so I just left them out and I used stew beef cubes instead of a roast. This was delicious and super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This was just - ok - not a "rich" flavor. I'll try it again - with some changes - first - don't bother putting pepper on the roast - it comes off when the liquid is added. I will use beef broth instead of water and the beef cube - and will have alot of added sides to top with - such as - rice, guac, shredded cheese, salsa, sour cream and a chipotle type dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States