Krautburger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Just finished making these and have to say they are the best ones I've ever made and I have tried many different recipes. I believe it is the addition of the onion soup mix. The next time I make them I think I will up the soup mix to a full package. I don't think it will make them too salty. Liked the margarine on the top too. A really great recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davisoasis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Kraut burger, bierochs, pasties, bunzas in Nebraska we call them Runzas, There is a chain of restaurants here and in Iowa, Kansas and Colorado under the Runza name, it started 60+ years ago in Lincoln. The onion soup mix is new while some add Italian sausage, cheese, a variety of seasonings etc, to the ground beef, I use ground turkey myself(cheaper). Their recipe is quite simple, ground meat, onion, cabbage, salt and pepper. There seems to be some other seasoning Runza uses some say white pepper is better than black. They also use sugar in their dough mixture. To shorten preparation time I substitute sauerkraut instead of cooking the cabbage down for 1/2 to 3/4 of an hour, you can use the refrigerated dough to save time and labor too. You then fill the center of the dough the with cooked mixture and fold and seal the Runza in any shape you like and bake until brown. I roll my dough out in a circle and fold it, it looks more like a calzone, I brown mine on both sides, baste with melted butter and enjoy! This is an old recipe brought over to the U.S. with the "Germans from Russia" in the 1800's. If you want you can "Google" the "Runza" recipe. L.D. Lincoln,Ne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I made these for our annual Oktoberfest and all my guests LOVED them! I used refrigerated pizza dough from my local grocery. I'll definitely make these again - thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Needs to be made with real sauerkraut, not chopped cabbage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I was raised in Colorado, lived in a community with a good-sized German population and ate krautburgers at least once a week. I made this recipe, my family tried it and asked that I return to my mother's recipe even though it does take a little longer. We add shredded carrots, leave out the cheese and leave a little "crunch" when cooking the cabbage. Won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
These are pretty good. The family received them well. I followed the recipe with only one exception. I only let the cabbage cook for a little bit. I wanted it to have some crispness left in it after it was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twistedsharks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 00Angela00
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I've made these twice, first time with my husband who ate 4 of them because he liked them so much! The second time was for guests who also very much enjoyed them. Definitely going to be doing these over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 00Angela00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I also added additional back pepper to taste. This recipe was very good and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
These were super yummy!! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I used frozen bread rolls instead of bread loaves. Dough was sticky but after using flour it was much easier. I noticed it was easier to stuff with meat and cheese if I stretched and worked the dough a bit like I was making a little mini-pizza. It wasn't hard once you got the hang of it. I may have made mine a little larger than normal using 2 rolls per runza and I ended up with 12 at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLucas10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Wow, what a great recipe for my husband and I! I was worried about the quantity, so I used only one loaf of frozen bread, 1/2 of an onion and a little more than a quarter of the head of cabbage. I had some of the meat mixture left over, but the number of burgers we ended up with was a great for dinner and a few for leftovers. I will do an egg wash next time to get that crusty golden brown bun. I will be making this recipe for my parents who grew up on traditional german food - we'll see how they like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Osceola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States