Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made a profile just so I could rave about this recipe! The only change I made was I had no powdered milk, so I did as another user suggested and added about 1/4 cup of 1% milk (give or take to adjust dough consistency), and they came out fabulous. These are so yummy, and super easy to freeze and thaw in the microwave to eat on the go. (The last batch I made, I froze half to save them and ended up eating them all week anyhow because they are SO good. Like little mini pocket sandwiches!) I didn't make the sauerkraut version, just the cabbage and omg. Did I mention they are unbelievable????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Did not like the mustard in this recipe, and seemed like too much cheese (if that's ever possible) I'm not giving up on finding a great Bierock recipe, but this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Tasty. Freezes and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I just acquired my new bread machine and Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer.Have been trying different breads from All Recipes.Com.These Kraut Bierocks are delicious.A lot of hand work but worth it.But the stand mixer make the work much easier.My son and my husband ate 3 buns each.The recipe said it will yield 10 but they are so big so the other half of the dough, I made them smaller. and also I put more filling because the dough really stretched like a rubber, so easy to handle.I am sure every teacher at my school will ask for the recipe when I bring some for sampler.Thank you for this delicious and fantastic bread recipe...Neri Kwashima, Kawasaki, Japan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was a family hit! I made this exactly as written, and it was wonderful. I am going to try it with the sauerkraut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Great Recipe! I just made these for dinner and they were a hit! I used someones idea about using Rhodes rolls and it made it easy and convenient. Try using velvetta cheese and sharp cheddar. I will continue to makes these as they remind me of a neighbor who made them every halloween since I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
My hubby and I were invited to an Oktober Fest party here in our new community. Everybody was to bring a German inspired dish and I decided to make this one. I almost cheated and bought frozen dinner rolls instead of making my own. Boy am I glad I made the recipe as stated! The dough was so fun to work with… I too had to add about 1.25 – 1.5 more cups of flower as others stated. I mixed mine in my stand mixer with the dough hook and then once together I kneaded it out on my counter. These turned out so good! There was someone else who made these and called them Kraut Burgers made with only ground beef so I thought mine were much better. A German lady there told me that Kraut Bierocks translate into Kraut burgers… she was surprised that I know the proper word for them. I will for make these again (from scratch) and play around with the filling to change things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
These were fabulous! I used a large can of drained and quickly rinsed kraut and added garlic, but otherwise followed the filling recipe exactly. I used Rhodes rolls and didn't defrost enough, so I had tons of extra filling and made them again the next night. Initially, I made 12 rolls and my boyfriend ate 9 of them for dinner! With 1/4 cup filling they baked up about the size of a baseball. They are perfect little bundles and they came out with a perfect filling to dough ratio for my tastes. I'll definitely be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
These were so good. I made them yesterday I used sauerkraut(1cup drained) because that was all I had in the fridge and I just had to try them. I am going to make them again next weekend for a crowd. I am hosting Thanksgiving dinner. I know they will be a hit. Thank you for sharing such a fantastic recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I did everything except prepared mustard I also used 1/3 cup for measuring meat stuffing and 1/4 cup to measure bread . th cheese is a nice binder. I had dough left over used it make apple cinimon cream rum cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States