Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
What a joy it is to find this wonderful recipe on this site so that others may also enjoy it! Thanks, Kim! On 6/5/03 Marian Elizabeth posted a review for this recipe in which she states that her cookbook, purchased in Kansas, indicates that this recipe came from the Volga Germans who emigrated from Russia. I can verify this as my German grandparents did, in fact, emigrate from Russia, and my Mother made these delicious Bierocks many times as I was growing up. Thank you, Marian Elizabeth for this interesting bit of information concerning the German heritage in America.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
The filling was fantabulous. The bread tasted really good after it was cooked, but was incredibly hard to work with - I added a cup and a half of flour above the 4 cups called for, and it was still too sticky to work. (I had run out of flour or I would have continued adding)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Daniel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Wonderful. Wonderful. Wonderful. Simply delicious. I made no changes to the recipe & these turned out GREAT. I got raving reviews from the crowds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
These turned out awesome!! I had to leave the dry milk out of the dough (didn't have any), but didn't seem to affect the dough any. They tasted just like the runza's i remember eating while i was living in Neb. Maybe even better ;). Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Awesome recipe!! My entire family just loved these! I will be making this again and again. I did make two changes. I used italian sausage links and then put them in the food processor, because I couldn't find the ground kind. And I used the store bought cresent roll dough that some of the other members mentioned. Worked great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSTRAWDER
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
These were fabulous!!! I reduced the amount of mustard to 1 TBSP so my husband wouldn't flip, but followed everything else exactly. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSTRAWDER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
These were really good! I made them with saurkraut instead of cabbage and found that it gave enough of a zing that I probably didn't need more than 2 Tblsp of mustard. I cheated and used frozen bread roll dough. I allowed it to rise per package instructions, then put the dough in the refrigerator for a bit, just to make it a bit easier to work with. My family loved these -- even my 2 year old! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I made this for an Oktoberfest party and my pickiest coworker who lives on homemade food RAVED about them. So did all the other guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Isn't it annoying when you slave away over something for hours and it turns out mediocre, yet something easy and simple ends up being incredibly tasty? I couldn't believe how much Husband liked these! Apart from adding a little horseradish sauce to the meat filling, I followed the recipe exactly. I'm looking forward to seeing if they are any better tomorrow. Awesome recipe, Kim! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was super good. It was time consuming but I imagine it will become faster as I do it more. I read a lot of reviews, there are a lot of helpful tips in them, I'm not going to retype them all here, but I suggest you read some of the other reviews before you make this recipe. I used 4 cups cabbage and carrot shredded together, 1 cup green pepper and 1 cup sauerkraut, we like a lot of veggies. In fact, next time I may use just 1# of sausage and more veggies. But that's just the veggie lover in me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States