Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Awesome recipe!! My entire family just loved these! I will be making this again and again. I did make two changes. I used italian sausage links and then put them in the food processor, because I couldn't find the ground kind. And I used the store bought cresent roll dough that some of the other members mentioned. Worked great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSTRAWDER
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
These were fabulous!!! I reduced the amount of mustard to 1 TBSP so my husband wouldn't flip, but followed everything else exactly. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSTRAWDER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
These were really good! I made them with saurkraut instead of cabbage and found that it gave enough of a zing that I probably didn't need more than 2 Tblsp of mustard. I cheated and used frozen bread roll dough. I allowed it to rise per package instructions, then put the dough in the refrigerator for a bit, just to make it a bit easier to work with. My family loved these -- even my 2 year old! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I made this for an Oktoberfest party and my pickiest coworker who lives on homemade food RAVED about them. So did all the other guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Isn't it annoying when you slave away over something for hours and it turns out mediocre, yet something easy and simple ends up being incredibly tasty? I couldn't believe how much Husband liked these! Apart from adding a little horseradish sauce to the meat filling, I followed the recipe exactly. I'm looking forward to seeing if they are any better tomorrow. Awesome recipe, Kim! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was super good. It was time consuming but I imagine it will become faster as I do it more. I read a lot of reviews, there are a lot of helpful tips in them, I'm not going to retype them all here, but I suggest you read some of the other reviews before you make this recipe. I used 4 cups cabbage and carrot shredded together, 1 cup green pepper and 1 cup sauerkraut, we like a lot of veggies. In fact, next time I may use just 1# of sausage and more veggies. But that's just the veggie lover in me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This recipe is AWESOME! The entire family loved it. I accidentially omitted the powdered milk from the dough and substituted butter for the shortening, but it turned out wonderful anyway. I made big ones and little ones. I even made it into a roll, like a pinwheel roll. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madeira, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
These are absolutely delicious. I make these only once a year, these are a special treat and making them only once a year keeps them special. I wouldn't change a thing, the recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Very good. I just used frozen bread dough to save time. The use of sausage and the velveeta cheese makes the filling different from the beirocks I'm used to making. These freeze nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I made the filling as noted, but used crescent rolls for the pastry. Sped up the process and they were delicious. Big hit at my party. I had leftover meat mixture and served it over noodles - very good the second day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States