Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
What a joy it is to find this wonderful recipe on this site so that others may also enjoy it! Thanks, Kim! On 6/5/03 Marian Elizabeth posted a review for this recipe in which she states that her cookbook, purchased in Kansas, indicates that this recipe came from the Volga Germans who emigrated from Russia. I can verify this as my German grandparents did, in fact, emigrate from Russia, and my Mother made these delicious Bierocks many times as I was growing up. Thank you, Marian Elizabeth for this interesting bit of information concerning the German heritage in America.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
The filling was fantabulous. The bread tasted really good after it was cooked, but was incredibly hard to work with - I added a cup and a half of flour above the 4 cups called for, and it was still too sticky to work. (I had run out of flour or I would have continued adding)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Daniel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Wonderful. Wonderful. Wonderful. Simply delicious. I made no changes to the recipe & these turned out GREAT. I got raving reviews from the crowds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
These turned out awesome!! I had to leave the dry milk out of the dough (didn't have any), but didn't seem to affect the dough any. They tasted just like the runza's i remember eating while i was living in Neb. Maybe even better ;). Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Awesome recipe!! My entire family just loved these! I will be making this again and again. I did make two changes. I used italian sausage links and then put them in the food processor, because I couldn't find the ground kind. And I used the store bought cresent roll dough that some of the other members mentioned. Worked great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSTRAWDER
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
These were fabulous!!! I reduced the amount of mustard to 1 TBSP so my husband wouldn't flip, but followed everything else exactly. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSTRAWDER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
These were really good! I made them with saurkraut instead of cabbage and found that it gave enough of a zing that I probably didn't need more than 2 Tblsp of mustard. I cheated and used frozen bread roll dough. I allowed it to rise per package instructions, then put the dough in the refrigerator for a bit, just to make it a bit easier to work with. My family loved these -- even my 2 year old! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I made this for an Oktoberfest party and my pickiest coworker who lives on homemade food RAVED about them. So did all the other guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Isn't it annoying when you slave away over something for hours and it turns out mediocre, yet something easy and simple ends up being incredibly tasty? I couldn't believe how much Husband liked these! Apart from adding a little horseradish sauce to the meat filling, I followed the recipe exactly. I'm looking forward to seeing if they are any better tomorrow. Awesome recipe, Kim! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was super good. It was time consuming but I imagine it will become faster as I do it more. I read a lot of reviews, there are a lot of helpful tips in them, I'm not going to retype them all here, but I suggest you read some of the other reviews before you make this recipe. I used 4 cups cabbage and carrot shredded together, 1 cup green pepper and 1 cup sauerkraut, we like a lot of veggies. In fact, next time I may use just 1# of sausage and more veggies. But that's just the veggie lover in me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States