Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I agree with previous people. I needed to use more flour than the recipe calls for. I also added extra cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
My father and I used to make these when I was a child. They make a really nice quick meal that can be stored in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I didn't have a problem with the dough - I used Splenda instead of sugar and cut the amount in half. I also used 1.5 C wheat flour and 2.5 C white - they turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This was fun! I used kraut instead of cabbage.... And I cheated (hahah) & used store bought dough. Will for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I have been making these since I was a little girl, with my dad. His mother taught him to make them, and her mother taught her and so on. I have never seen a recipe for these, just made them from memory. I have heard that you can get these all over the midwest, and that makes sense since my dad and his family are from Nebraska. I usually don't use sausage with the meat, don't like the flavor, but otherwise, looks like a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
First, I absolutely LOVED the filling for this! I'm sure that I am going to make it alot - I can think of many different ways to eat it: over a half baked potato, stuffed in a pita pocket, on crispy toasted french bread... I made it with Jimmy Dean's Sage Sausage, 1/2lb ground lamb instead of beef, and I added a few tbsp lime juice. However... the bread recipe was trouble from the start for me. It was hard to get the shortening mixed in well, my electric beater and hands both became a sticky, goopy mess. I started adding flour, kept adding and adding - close to 2c of extra flour so that the dough was workable. I let it sit 40 minutes, but it didn't rise much, so I let it sit a second time after kneading (still didn't rise). I was so proud when I saw these after 20 minutes in the oven that it all seemed worth it. I called my boyfriend over and let them cool off. But when we took big bites, the dough was waaay underdone on the bottom half. My spakin' new pan would NOT cook the bottoms, even after an extra 20 minutes. I had to cook them on my tried and true smaller pan in batches to get the bottoms done. 2 hours 45 minutes later... I did have a good time, though. =) Pat's Bierock recipe on this site looks like it has a better dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyInBliss
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
As others have stated, you need more flour than the recipe asks. I added an additional cup, so my total flour was five cups. Other than that, I think this is a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I made a quadruple batch of these recently (for a brewfest) and they were great, but I did not follow the recipe exactly. Like other people, I was shocked when I had to add LOTS more flour than called for to the dough, and I used whole wheat for about 1/3 of the total. I added sauerkraut and chopped homemade giardineira veggies to the innards and the vinegary flavor was great against the sweetness of the dough. I also used mozzarella (I had a ton of it that needed to go away) instead of the other cheese, but would use something stronger like smoked gouda next time. People loved these even when served cold. I grew up in central Kansas with lunch ladies that made these for us in the lunch room and they were the best ever. Not quite what most kids are getting these days in the cafeteria - they are missing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I've made this 3 times. GREAT recipe..freezes well. Big hit when served at parties. Served with ketchup and also a honey mustard dressing for a dip. Will be making again for a Octoberfest party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Excellent!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States