Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Delicious! Needed a full five cups of flour, and will add some ketchup or tomato sauce next time, for our taste buds. :) But thanks so very much for the recipe. It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Made this recipe, which generated about 12 nice sized buns. My husband and I devoured them within 2 days. I am going to keep this recipe for sure, and will also try using the dough for BBQ beef, Broccoli and cheese, Ham and cheese filled buns. I cannot wait to try other fillings in this bread. Like most of the other reviewers, I did have to add additional flour, and I found that another 3/4 of a cup was perfect. In addition, I did not have the dried milk -so I used 1 and 1/2 cups of water, and 1/2 cup of half and half to fill that dairy void. These were REALLY good. I can't wait to fill the bread with other things as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidcallous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Excellent. I have used another recipe previously but I like this one much better (and so did my family). The sausage and mustard really made a huge difference. I goofed on the dough and used oil instead of shortening, needed to add more flour to get to a workable dough - but still a great taste. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
We absolutely LOVED these!! Super easy to make especially since I used the bread machine to make and rise the dough. I did make one change, I decided to use beer bratwurst (casings removed before browning with beef) instead of italian sausage and it was so yummy! Will definitely make again and again. I made 16 bierocks with that amount of dough and once cooked with meat in the middle they came out to be the size of a regular hamburger bun, just right for holding. I did have a small bowl of meat mixture left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
1st off I didn't follow the hamburger/cabbage part of the recipe as shown & I only changed the bread recipe slightly - by doing 1/2c water & 1/2c milk. Everyone has different tastes & I just made the inside mixture to my taste. I say, start w/ the recipe & chg it as you try it again. (I use salt, alot of pepper, a little garlic powder & allspice & mustard & sugar, & some worcestershire.) No matter what spices you put in yours if you put a can of 98% ff cream of mushroom soup instead of the cheese it'll cut down on fat, but keep it creamy. It does increase the sodium though. I would say, though, that you do want the hamburger mixture to be pretty tasteful (almost too much so when you try it by itself) because when you put it with the bread it balances out. -- I understand that the bread part of this recipe does take a long time, but you really should try it once when you have some time. THE BREAD IS GREAT! It's a little bland by itself, but put it with the hamburger mixture, which is very flavorful, it balances out wonderfully. I did roll my bread out at about 1/4 in or a little less & came out with 10 large bierocks & still had extra, but I think the bread-to-hamburger ratio was good. I froze the extra bierocks in aluminum foil for quick pop in the oven for later. Used the extra dough to make a small loaf of cinnamon swirl bread. I will use the dough recipe again, with a little salt to cut out the 'blandness' (for bread only recipe). It's a good bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Loved these! I made them more filling less bread..but so delish! I also upped the mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These are wonderful! My Mother is German and she made these often for us when we were children. She suffers from dementia and I was unable to get the recipe from her. I have searched for this recipe for years. Thanks for sharing because my family gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
very good bierock recipe - I use spicy mustard and only the cheddar cheese, doubled. The bread was also very easy to make and turns out wonderfully. I like to double the recipe and freeze the birocks after I bake them. They reheat really well in the microwave, and are great snacks or meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Made these for an Oktoberfest party and they were a smash! Very tasty and cheesy. There were scooped up right away. The only thing I would do different is split the filling recipe in half because I ran out of bread dough half way through, either that or make twice the dough. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder to the meat to give it a little more flavor. I put the leftovers in the fridge for the next day and made another batch of dough and it worked out perfectly! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
These are simply great!! I used Rhodes frozen bread rolls, instead of making my own bread... While I believe home made bread is the BEST, my RA will not allow for all that kneading. I adore these made with sauerkraut and ground beef, or cabbage, and bacon. It's different, yes, but boy are they good. The combo of cabbage with bacon... YUM!! We use them for suppers and lunches. I have never tried cheese in them, I'll have to give that a try. Rhodes frozen rolls work BEST when thawed at room temp. Cooler than that, is way to hard to use. I roll one out, cut it into, roll out again to make round, apply my meat & such, then roll up like a dinner roll, turn over and place in a slightly greased 9 x 13 pan. let raise again and then bake. You can add all sorts of stuff, as others have stated. This is just our way of eating them. I make two pans of each. My Husband always makes a big deal out of, "which one will I eat first". It doesn't matter, they both are GREAT!! And yes they do freeze wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States