Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
These are amazing. For the dough, I use the bread machine, and I only use 1-1/2 cups of water. I ended up using all the flour called for. And I was out of powdered milk, so I skipped it! I used 1-1/3 pounds of ground beef instead of beef and sausage, one can of sauerkraut instead of cabbage, and all cheddar cheese (no American). Really tasty fresh, and still quite delicious at room temperature or cold. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These tasted great and reheat really well in the microwave (wrap in saran wrap and heat for 1 min). I used German Sausage instead of Italian, and spinach instead of kraut (because I was lazy and didn't want to go to the store) good with spinach but I think I will try it with real sauerkraut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Delicious! Needed a full five cups of flour, and will add some ketchup or tomato sauce next time, for our taste buds. :) But thanks so very much for the recipe. It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Made this recipe, which generated about 12 nice sized buns. My husband and I devoured them within 2 days. I am going to keep this recipe for sure, and will also try using the dough for BBQ beef, Broccoli and cheese, Ham and cheese filled buns. I cannot wait to try other fillings in this bread. Like most of the other reviewers, I did have to add additional flour, and I found that another 3/4 of a cup was perfect. In addition, I did not have the dried milk -so I used 1 and 1/2 cups of water, and 1/2 cup of half and half to fill that dairy void. These were REALLY good. I can't wait to fill the bread with other things as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidcallous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Excellent. I have used another recipe previously but I like this one much better (and so did my family). The sausage and mustard really made a huge difference. I goofed on the dough and used oil instead of shortening, needed to add more flour to get to a workable dough - but still a great taste. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
We absolutely LOVED these!! Super easy to make especially since I used the bread machine to make and rise the dough. I did make one change, I decided to use beer bratwurst (casings removed before browning with beef) instead of italian sausage and it was so yummy! Will definitely make again and again. I made 16 bierocks with that amount of dough and once cooked with meat in the middle they came out to be the size of a regular hamburger bun, just right for holding. I did have a small bowl of meat mixture left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
1st off I didn't follow the hamburger/cabbage part of the recipe as shown & I only changed the bread recipe slightly - by doing 1/2c water & 1/2c milk. Everyone has different tastes & I just made the inside mixture to my taste. I say, start w/ the recipe & chg it as you try it again. (I use salt, alot of pepper, a little garlic powder & allspice & mustard & sugar, & some worcestershire.) No matter what spices you put in yours if you put a can of 98% ff cream of mushroom soup instead of the cheese it'll cut down on fat, but keep it creamy. It does increase the sodium though. I would say, though, that you do want the hamburger mixture to be pretty tasteful (almost too much so when you try it by itself) because when you put it with the bread it balances out. -- I understand that the bread part of this recipe does take a long time, but you really should try it once when you have some time. THE BREAD IS GREAT! It's a little bland by itself, but put it with the hamburger mixture, which is very flavorful, it balances out wonderfully. I did roll my bread out at about 1/4 in or a little less & came out with 10 large bierocks & still had extra, but I think the bread-to-hamburger ratio was good. I froze the extra bierocks in aluminum foil for quick pop in the oven for later. Used the extra dough to make a small loaf of cinnamon swirl bread. I will use the dough recipe again, with a little salt to cut out the 'blandness' (for bread only recipe). It's a good bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Loved these! I made them more filling less bread..but so delish! I also upped the mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These are wonderful! My Mother is German and she made these often for us when we were children. She suffers from dementia and I was unable to get the recipe from her. I have searched for this recipe for years. Thanks for sharing because my family gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
very good bierock recipe - I use spicy mustard and only the cheddar cheese, doubled. The bread was also very easy to make and turns out wonderfully. I like to double the recipe and freeze the birocks after I bake them. They reheat really well in the microwave, and are great snacks or meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States