Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This filling was very very good, I couldn't get the dough to flatten out and was probably not patient enough, but I will definately make the filling again, maybe try it over some egg noodles next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Excellent! Everyone loves these. My first attempt at bierocks and the only problem was mine. I used a too spicy sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Really good! But I must say I have a few qualms with the recipe... The flour amount is not enough. I added a ton! It could really be more specific. I had never tried, or even seen a beirrock before. How big of a piece of dough? How flat? How wide should it be? What exactly qualifies a "spoonful"? My result was a wonderful, albiet overly bready creation. I'll do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
These are incredible. Plenty of room for tweaking depending upon your choice of mustard and whether you use cabbage or kraut. I can definitely see playing with the cheese as well. For my first batch, I went with a dijon mustard and also added a little swiss. My husband devoured them. His observation was that the filling had the consistency of a spring roll, but tasted like a hamburger/slider. Definite keeper for party snack food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
WOW! These were absolutely amazing! I did end up having to add nearly an extra 2 cups of flour to bring the dough together, and also added a tspoon of salt because I can't imagine a bread dough without salt, but other than that I followed the bread recipe. I did end up altering the meat mixture after tasting it to suit it to our tastes, but these were such a hit at the Oktoberfest party I attended. Here's what I did: grab about a 2" ball of dough, flatten it and gently stretch it to about 4" or 5" in diamter. If this dough has been kneaded enough, you shouldn't have to worry about it breaking open, but don't push it. I put a very large spoonful of mixture in since the reviews all said they had a ton of filling leftover. You can add more than you think because the dough stretches nicely around it and I didn't end up with any extra filling (though I did cut down the filling ingredients slightly). AFter adding the additional 2c of flour, I'd say I was able to make about 2 batch of 8 or 9, & because the bread expands quite a bit during cooking, they turned out to be the size of a good sized burger w/ a beautiful bread to filling ratio. Brush the top with an egg wash (egg white and a quick splash of water) and sprinkle with a dash of sea salt and something like dried onions or Mrs. Dash for color and texture and appearance. Can't wait to try this one with different fillings; I think I'll try an orange egg wash mixture and make pumpkins for Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I love bierocks! The first time i tried them was here in Ks. I bought a cookbook from an auction, that happened to be money raising cookbook for a close by college. When i found this one i was very interested and decided to make it. I have made it many many times since then. I decided to see what i could come up with on this site tonight because i didnt want to take the time to dig out my trusty cookbook and wahlah i tried this one and was i glad i did :) so gooooood my family loved these! I make half with cheese and half without because i like them better without the cheese. i never have enough for leftovers! I end up giving them out to extended family members and they too are so pleased with these! YUMMMY is all i can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eden

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
These are amazing. For the dough, I use the bread machine, and I only use 1-1/2 cups of water. I ended up using all the flour called for. And I was out of powdered milk, so I skipped it! I used 1-1/3 pounds of ground beef instead of beef and sausage, one can of sauerkraut instead of cabbage, and all cheddar cheese (no American). Really tasty fresh, and still quite delicious at room temperature or cold. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These tasted great and reheat really well in the microwave (wrap in saran wrap and heat for 1 min). I used German Sausage instead of Italian, and spinach instead of kraut (because I was lazy and didn't want to go to the store) good with spinach but I think I will try it with real sauerkraut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Delicious! Needed a full five cups of flour, and will add some ketchup or tomato sauce next time, for our taste buds. :) But thanks so very much for the recipe. It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Made this recipe, which generated about 12 nice sized buns. My husband and I devoured them within 2 days. I am going to keep this recipe for sure, and will also try using the dough for BBQ beef, Broccoli and cheese, Ham and cheese filled buns. I cannot wait to try other fillings in this bread. Like most of the other reviewers, I did have to add additional flour, and I found that another 3/4 of a cup was perfect. In addition, I did not have the dried milk -so I used 1 and 1/2 cups of water, and 1/2 cup of half and half to fill that dairy void. These were REALLY good. I can't wait to fill the bread with other things as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidcallous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States