Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
These were fabulous! I used a large can of drained and quickly rinsed kraut and added garlic, but otherwise followed the filling recipe exactly. I used Rhodes rolls and didn't defrost enough, so I had tons of extra filling and made them again the next night. Initially, I made 12 rolls and my boyfriend ate 9 of them for dinner! With 1/4 cup filling they baked up about the size of a baseball. They are perfect little bundles and they came out with a perfect filling to dough ratio for my tastes. I'll definitely be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
These were so good. I made them yesterday I used sauerkraut(1cup drained) because that was all I had in the fridge and I just had to try them. I am going to make them again next weekend for a crowd. I am hosting Thanksgiving dinner. I know they will be a hit. Thank you for sharing such a fantastic recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I did everything except prepared mustard I also used 1/3 cup for measuring meat stuffing and 1/4 cup to measure bread . th cheese is a nice binder. I had dough left over used it make apple cinimon cream rum cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This dough worked great. I've made it twice and forgot the shortening in the 2nd batch, and it still worked well. I like this filling, but I'm also going to try the dough for empanadas, as I think it will work for them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
These were a crowd pleaser. The recipe is easy and turned out prettier than the picture. I did not use as much cheese as the recipe, but the dough was great, I will probably try with my favorite empanada filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
OMG I cannot believe I found this - I didn't even know how to spell it but once I saw it I knew it. Years of growing up and now found - vindicated! It exists! We made these a lot over years - we used frozen diner rolls that rise as they thaw (Rhodes) the texas size diner rolls work best. Then really it's just hamburger and cabbage cooked. You have to roll out the diner rolls of course. Put mean in middle - pick up twist and seat on cookie sheet on it's twist. Quick and somewhat painless. You can do full monty and make the dough but shortcuts are best. It just isn't right without cabbage - would go to kraut with with it. Just really jazzed I found it. Haven't tried this particular recipe but give it a go my way or theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tas70
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This is fantastic! I love cabbage but the rest of my family are not so fond of it but they loved these. The first time I made these I made exactly as the recipe says too but the 2nd time I had to use what I had which was 1 pound ground beef, 1/2 pound bacon, a can of seasoned cabbage and some Swiss cheese. Still delicious!! I am going to made some more today but make the filling with ham and sharp cheddar. Anyone that is using pre-made dough is really missing out because this dough is amazingly good and these also freeze great. Bake as directed, let cool, wrap in plastic wrap and put in a freezer bag. Heat in microwave about 2 minutes for a quick lunch for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I didn't want to deal with the dough, so I took the meat & sauerkraut mixture and put it on a pack of hawaiian sweet rolls & made sliders (baking in the over for about 15-20 min). A nice change from our usual sliders, and a great use for leftover sauerkraut. I would make again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
the flavor of bread and filling was very good--even better than mother's! like another reviewer, i let my bread machine do the mixing and rising of bread. however, that was the only variance i made from the recipe. when we placed them in the baking dish, they "ran together" and we didn't get true individual pockets. still delicious, but i think a baking sheet might do a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jared

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
We loved this! No side dish necessary. Not even sure what goes with this but me and my husband dipped it with mustard. I didnt shred my cabbage; I chiffonade (sp?) it widely. I think I'll add more cabbage next time. Love the dough as well, altough, I had to add way more than it called for. Halved the recipe and got at least 15 bierocks if using 2 tablespoons of filling for a 1/4-1/3 cup dough (about an ice cream scooper size). The dough wrapped around the filling so nicely. Just make sure not to roll it out too thin because it will stretch a bit while baking. Also, I did an egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States